Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Copper Contributor
alevenso
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

I got a promo email to "purchase"? the Advanced Wi-Fi Router for 99.99 - and I cant seem to find answers to some questions-

 

1. If I buy it - is it mine? Do I need to send my current ActionTec back? I do not recall paying for the one I have - 

 

2. Is it worth it? 99.99 seems steep for a router - whats the value proposisiton...

 

3. When I try to buy it - some other HBO promo seems to be stuck in my cart - I already pay for HBO - dont want to pay for it again - anyone else see this during a checkout process....

 

I guess thats it - 

Silver Contributor III
gs0b
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router...Several Questions...

It used to be $79.99.  Not sure why Verizon raised the price; it's the same piece of equipment.

 

Personally, I don't think it's worth $99.99.   I have one of the advanced routers courtesy of Verzion providing it as a replacement for a failed standard router, and I wouldn't be happy if I had paid $79.99 for it.  It's single band and the range is less than the old 802.11b/g router I had. It does have GigE ports, which is nice.

 

If I were you, I'd spend my money on a good 802.11n dual band access point or router and connect it to the Actiontec.  There are lots of good choices at the $100 price point and below.

 

Good Luck.

 

-----
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Silver Contributor III
walt178
Posts: 965
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...


alevenso wrote:

I got a promo email to "purchase"? the Advanced Wi-Fi Router for 99.99 - and I cant seem to find answers to some questions-

 

1. If I buy it - is it mine? Do I need to send my current ActionTec back? I do not recall paying for the one I have - 

 

2. Is it worth it? 99.99 seems steep for a router - whats the value proposisiton...

 

3. When I try to buy it - some other HBO promo seems to be stuck in my cart - I already pay for HBO - dont want to pay for it again - anyone else see this during a checkout process....

 

I guess thats it - 


1.  If you buy it, it's yours.  You can send your current ActionTec back or keep it.  But, if you send it back keep your receipt and tracking info.    You are still  liable for it.

 

2.  Probably not.  If I were buying one, I would get a different, better router and connect it to the ActionTec.  The following link is a good starting point for info on doing that. If you do go that route, a forum search will provide a lot of information.  Or just post back here.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077

 

3.  Haven't seen that, but it's good that you were watching. 

 

Also, if you have the 75/35 plan or greater you should be able to get the latest router for free.  So check before buying.

All Star
beetlejuice
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

[ Edited ]

I know this thread is considered solved, but wanted to toss in a comment.

 

Its true they were selling it for $79. Originally is was $99 then I guess they lowered it then raised it back up probably because of the recent heavy promotion of it.

 

I bought the router through ch. 692 for the 3 installments offer. I was using an old Westell router that was good on wired, but I wanted more speed since the g band wasn't cutting it on wireless. My range did increase a lot on the new router. They did try to pull one over on me as they sent me a used/refurbished router that was missing the stand, cables, etc..

I had to have a brand new one re-sent to me.

 

Is it worth it? I guess it depends on ones situation. Yes there are far better routers out there that are also dual band, but I personally just wanted one router in the house, not 2. I also live in an area where I don't need the extra band. If you don't mind having another router with the current one then I would say go that route as you will get more bang for the buck. If you are like me and just want one router and something simple and easy to set up then it is an upgrade over the old g routers.

 

 

Bronze Contributor I
logan8
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

Something that really factors into the value of the Verizon router is that if it breaks then verizon will replace it for free as long as you have the service, Best Buy is not going to give you the same consideration.
Contributor
imdogoflanders
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

Very good point!  Thanks for making it.  :smileyhappy:

Bronze Contributor I
VUser50
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

Another consideration is exactly how much range you need and if you may switch to another service provider. I'm happy with Verizon but live in an area where they are very competitive with Optimum. I'd be weary of investing in a router that is only good for Verizon.*

 

*It might be able to convert into a regular router but certainly not easily and again less powerful than most on the market. 

Contributor
drdumont
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

[ Edited ]

Let me premise my comments with this - There IS NO better Internet/TV service available to consumers than FiOS. It is not without it's warts (mostly pricing and hardware issues), but I can imagine no reason other than financial, perhaps, or moving to a non FiOS area, to change from FiOS, Forgo a few Starbucks a month and enjoy the technically superior TV and Internet service. Phones? I use the "orange" phone service. It is cheaper and works as well as FiOS. And their tech support both voice and web based are screamingly faster. If you buy your own router/wireless access point, you can use it anywhere else, if for some reason unknown to me you change providers. 1) The Actiontek router is crap, although it is the better of the two, Tellabs vs Actiontek, it is still crap for a number of reasons. 2)The Actiontek was supplied by FiOS on installation, I had no choice. 3) If it dies, YOU have to pay for a replacement. Odd, your system will not work without a router/MOCA, but if THEIR equipment needs replacement (failure), YOU have to pay for a new one. I wonder if the ONT dies you have to pay for it? You have to pay for replacement backup batteries. That's my beef with Verizon. 4) The Actiontek router chokes and fails with multiple connections (ex: using torrent client). 5) The Actiontek QoS does not work, so if you want to use a VOIP client behind it you are {word filter avoidance} Phone conversations impossible during high Internet traffic use. Manual resets are needed frequently. 6) Ages ago, I put the Actiontek behind the Vonage router/VOIP interface. All problems solved. The Actiontek is only used to provide the MOCA bridge (to operate the set top boxes). Phone conversations now unaffected by the most severe Internet traffic. I use a better quality multi band wireless interface instead of the weak Actiontek . Beats the Actiontek hands down. Better security, too. And I enjoy 50/50 Internet speeds. I use a Gigabit path between my computers, the other setup works for Internet speed. The bottom line? Fuhgeddaboudt the Verizon provided router for $100. Purchase a good quality multiband router/wireless access point. Install it between the optical terminal and the FiOS provided router. Either set it up to spoof the original router MAC address or call tech support and tell 'em you are using a different router. (They will give you guff about not being able to support it, and "you can lose a couple of features*), but they will allow your router to connect. Put the Actiontek or Tellabs on the output of your new router so the set top boxes can connect. If a lot of this terminology is Greek to you, either get someone to help you, or just drink the Kool Ade and be happy. But you could learn something and get better performance with just a little research. * Remote control of STBs over the Internet, perhaps their "security" package, letting them access the stb's for diagnostics) may not work without the Actiontek forst in line. I spoofed the Actiontek MAC address on my new router. If for some reason I HAVE to reconfigure and put the Actiontek back in first place, it is a mere wire swap, then I can normal up. Been working this way from the first month of rollout here in Texas. Works fine, lasts long time. Schoolteacher. Velly clean.

All Star
viafax999
Posts: 1,737
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Device: Chromecast tv phone
Plan: Digital Voice, 75/35
Location: Westford MA
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

[ Edited ]

 3) If it dies, YOU have to pay for a replacement. Odd, your system will not work without a router/MOCA, but if THEIR equipment needs replacement (failure), YOU have to pay for a new one. I wonder if the ONT dies you have to pay for it

 

Not true.  If the router dies Verizon will replace it free of charge, typically with a newer version too.

 

No you don't have to pay for the ONT if it dies.  Like the router that is part of the equipment Verizon supplied and they will replace it.

 

 5) The Actiontek QoS does not work, so if you want to use a VOIP client behind it you are {word filter avoidance} Phone conversations impossible during high Internet traffic use.

Don't kow what  voip client you use but I use a couple and have no issues, neither have I ever botheres tweaking the router for voip support.

 

 

Contributor
drdumont
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Advanced Wi-Fi Router....Several Questions...

[ Edited ]

viafax999 wrote:

 3) If it dies, YOU have to pay for a replacement. Odd, your system will not work without a router/MOCA, but if THEIR equipment needs replacement (failure), YOU have to pay for a new one. I wonder if the ONT dies you have to pay for it

 

Not true.  If the router dies Verizon will replace it free of charge, typically with a newer version too.

 

No you don't have to pay for the ONT if it dies.  Like the router that is part of the equipment Verizon supplied and they will replace it. (1)

 

 5) The Actiontek QoS does not work, so if you want to use a VOIP client behind it you are {word filter avoidance} (2)

 

Phone conversations impossible during high Internet traffic use.(3)

Don't kow what  voip client you use but I use a couple and have no issues, neither have I ever bothered tweaking the router for voip support.

 

 


(1) Ummm... Maybe someone should tell the THREE Verizon folk to whom I spoke when I called about a defective unit when the Actiontek power supply went {word filter avoidance}*. I refused to pay for another, and now use a larger capacity power supply which has been running for a couple of years. You state that it is "part of the equipment Verizon supplied and they will replace it". If we go by that logic, then why don't they replace the batteries at no charge when at EOL? You are correct. They WILL replace things. AT YOUR COST. I was being sarcastic about the ONT.  They upgraded my ONT from the first design when the oprical connector overheated. That was an early design error, no charge.

 

(2) {please keep it relevant}

 

(3) I use Vonage for phone service. Before I put the Vonage router/voip terminal ahead of the Actiontek, one there were more than 50 or so connections, both phone and Internet ceased to function. Phone got choppy, and no one in the house could access web pages, etc. Yes, I was using a Torrent client. I attempted to set the QoS in the Actiontek, an exercise in futility. THe inability to handle many connections is a known defect. See DSLReports. The Vonage router/voip terminal has no such limitations.

 

Oh yeah, my error - I said "Tellabs" when I meant "Westell". Don't mean to insult the Tellabs folks.

 

*{please keep it relevant}

 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411