Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
lawrencegoodman
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
0 Kudos

Can't log in to change router settings

I am on Mac OS 10.5 and using both safari and firefox, I have the same problem.

I go to the admin page, type my username and then after a type a single letter in the password section, it automatically fills it in with a bunch of stars. I can't stop this from happening. Anyone know what is going on?

 

Thanks. 

Employee
CharlesH
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Location: New Jersey
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

It is supposed to do that. Try to ignore it when typing your password.
Contributor
lawrencegoodman
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

I can't ignore it because as soon as II start typing it starts filling in other characters. II don't get it.
Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,860
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

As Charles said, ignore it. What you type will actually be used, the extra crap is just a stupid attempt at security by Actiontec to keep someone from looking over your shoulder and remembering the password, all of the extra characters displayed is supposed to confuse the watcher. Confuses the user more than the watcher I think.....

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

 

Contributor
henrybech
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

No, sorry, it is populating the password with characters as soon as I start typing and won't let me enter my password.

 

(also, when logging in, i keep getting a zip code error message. i had to create a new username.)

 

are these problems particular to mac?

Employee
CharlesH
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Location: New Jersey
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

For each character it will do 3 stars. Stare down the keyboard if you need too....
Bronze Contributor II
CapnTrips
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Location: Northern Virginia/DC
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings


henrybech wrote:

No, sorry, it is populating the password with characters as soon as I start typing and won't let me enter my password.

 


What people are telling you is that those asterisks you see "populating" the password field are just a security measure.  Ignore what you see in the password field.  Simply type your password correctly and click enter.

MVP
dslr595148
Posts: 5,377
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Can't log in to change router settings

[ Edited ]

henrybech wrote:

No, sorry, it is populating the password with characters as soon as I start typing and won't let me enter my password.

 

(also, when logging in, i keep getting a zip code error message. i had to create a new username.)

 

are these problems particular to mac?






Other users have seen the same thing, time to time.

This is also addressed over in

Forum Feedback and Suggestions : Re: can't log in using forum name/password

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=Feedback_and_Suggestions&message.id=349



[EDIT] And another thing, this site is not a router.

If you were really talking about a router.

Normally users use the LAN IP of the router to log-in.

That LAN IP will be one of the following:

a) From 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255

b) From 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255

c) From 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

If they are not using a LAN IP, then normally they would be using the public IP of it..
Message Edited by dslr595148 on 04-16-2009 09:32 AM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools