Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
markmark23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
0 Kudos

Change IP Address?

Does anyone know how to change the ip address?  I know that it changes on its own sometimes, but what if you want to force it to change?

 

Doe anyone know how to change it to a specific ip address?

 

I am referring to the ip address that the world sees you as. (not the 192.168....)

Copper Contributor
jumpin68
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-03-2009
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

The public IP address is dynamically assigned by Verizon.  The only way to change it is to call support and ask them to release your address.  But there is no chance you will get a new address.  Other folks on here have indicated you can release the address and then request a new address.  Then again no chance you will get a new address, just a renewal.

 

Why do you want a new IP address anyway? 

Bronze Contributor II
DzWR
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009
Device: Samsung Omnia
Plan: Fizos
Location: Va Beach, VA
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

Probably the easiest way is to call in and ask them to break your lease, then leave your router unplugged for the night before it obtains a new (or possible the same) one.
.,.
Contributor
markmark23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

thanks.  I meant more like change the ip address on your own whenever you want.

 

when you go into the advanced settings in 192.168.1.1 you see many options to obtain a new ip address, and setup a new ip address.

 

However, nothing I do seems to work in there.

Copper Contributor
jumpin68
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-03-2009
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

Are you trying to change the public address or the private (192.168.1.x) address?  Like I said when you release and renew the address it will generally give the old one back unless someone else requested an address and the DHCP server gave that one away..  One would have to wait probably a 24 hour period to get a different address. 
Contributor
markmark23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

i am trying to change the public address.  there has to be a way.  does anyone else know the solution?

 

thanks

Nickel Contributor
spacedebrisR
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: Change IP Address?

[ Edited ]

If you are wanting to change the public IP address on the router and get a new. Sometimes you have to call tech support and have them break the lease from their end because the system will hold onto the IP.  But most of the time you can do it yourself.

 

If you have the Actiontec Router

 

1. log into the router

2. go to "My network"

3. Click on "network connections" on the left hand side

4. Click on "broadband connecion" 

     a. Ethernet if you have ethernet internet

     b. coax if you have coax internet

5. Click on "settings"

6. find "DHCP LEASE" and click release, then renew

7. Enjoy new IP address

 

 

 

 

 

****If it comes back and gives you the same IP< then you will need to contact tech support to release from their side. Or if you leave the router unplugged (or powered off) for more than 2 hours it will also try releasing that way also.

Message Edited by spacedebris on 04-21-2009 11:05 AM
Bronze Contributor II
DzWR
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009
Device: Samsung Omnia
Plan: Fizos
Location: Va Beach, VA
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?


markmark23 wrote:

thanks.  I meant more like change the ip address on your own whenever you want.

 

when you go into the advanced settings in 192.168.1.1 you see many options to obtain a new ip address, and setup a new ip address.

 

However, nothing I do seems to work in there.


Yeah, thats one of the reasons I mentioned leaving the router unplugged for the evening.  It gives you a better chance to pull a new ip from the pool and not receive the same one.  Unfortunately, there isn't a easy one button click way to do this.
.,.
Contributor
markmark23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

thanks.

 

I also notice on that page where "obtain ip address automatically" is selected, that it also has an option to enter an ipaddress.

 

does anyone know exactly how to do this?

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Change IP Address?

[ Edited ]

markmark23 wrote:

thanks.

 

I also notice on that page where "obtain ip address automatically" is selected, that it also has an option to enter an ipaddress.

 

does anyone know exactly how to do this?




First things first.

#1 If WAN IP in the router matches the WAN IP at another site that displays it ( for example http://www.portforward.com )

and you have NOT been assigned a static public IP then: I would not recommend changing that setting.

b) Let's say that the LAN IP of the router is 192.168.1.1, you have not been assigned a static public IP, the WAN IP in the router matches another site that displays it ( for example http://www.portforward.com ), and really you want to change the WAN IP the router - fine.

At that screen, select static.

Enter in the following settings:

IP Address: 192.168.2.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.2.1
DNS #1: 192.168.2.1

Press ok or save settings.

Congrats you just set a WAN static IP, but there is only one problem: You are not going anywhere online! :smileysad:



#2 If WAN IP in the router does not matches the WAN IP at another site that displays it ( for example http://www.portforward.com )

and the WAN IP in the router is one of these:

a) From 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255

b) From 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255

c) From 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

before changing it, you must at least answer this question... What is the brand and model of the device connected to the WAN port of this router?

Message Edited by dslr595148 on 04-21-2009 03:40 PM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411