Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
AJL
Contributor
AJL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Chromecast on FIOS

When I setup the Chromecast device on my network, Google's setup complains that I need UPnP enabled on my router.

 

After a bit of googling, I see that the Actiontec router has broken UPnP, but there is a possible solution by disabling IGMP.  I tried disabling IGMP on my router, but that did not correct the problem.

 

Has anyone successfully installed Chromecast on their router, and could tell me what version of firmware you are using?

Silver Contributor II
JOSEm441
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

IF you login to the router then go here http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900 you can access the UPnP settings

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Nickel Contributor
ronzie
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


JOSEm441 wrote:

IF you login to the router then go here http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900 you can access the UPnP settings


We just ordered a Chromecast, and I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network. When trying to access that link, our Actiontec MI424-WR Rev C router with firmware version 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.14.4 just takes me back to the login page, even though I am already logged in. Running Firefox 22 on Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

Silver Contributor IV
Anti-Phish
Posts: 1,105
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

ronzie wrote:

I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network.


 

The UPnP page is not hidden on the rev. C.  You don't need that link.

Simply go to Advanced, click on the Universal Plug and Play link.

 

UPnP is enabled by default.  So unless you've explicitly disabled it, you shouldn't need to enable it.

 

 

 

Nickel Contributor
ronzie
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


Anti-Phish wrote:

ronzie wrote:

I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network.


 

The UPnP page is not hidden on the rev. C.  You don't need that link.

Simply go to Advanced, click on the Universal Plug and Play link.

 

UPnP is enabled by default.  So unless you've explicitly disabled it, you shouldn't need to enable it.

 

 

 


Thanks, I found it. Now just have to wait for them to ship it.

AJL
Contributor
AJL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

Unfortunately, none of these suggestions worked.

 

After speaking with Verizon Expert Care, I was told that Verizon FIOS does not support UPnP, as they only provide Internet Access.

 

I have the Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I (hardware version I), with firmware version 40.20.7.  Perhaps previous versions of this router have UPnP working, but this version does not.

 

I guess the result is that Chromecast is not able to be installed on Verizon FIOS networks.

Contributor
keddren
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

I have an older MI424-WR D router, so what worked for me may not work for you, but I'll throw it out there anyway.  

 

I had to go into the wireless settings, into advanced security settings, then into other advanced wireless settings and change Network from Network (Home/Office) to Broadband.  I have no idea what specifically that does (and Actiontec support is being of absolutely no help) but that let me connect my Chromecast to my wireless.

 

Hope this helps.

Silver Contributor V
TNS_2
Posts: 2,217
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

AJL wrote:

Unfortunately, none of these suggestions worked.

 

After speaking with Verizon Expert Care, I was told that Verizon FIOS does not support UPnP, as they only provide Internet Access.

 

I have the Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I (hardware version I), with firmware version 40.20.7.  Perhaps previous versions of this router have UPnP working, but this version does not.

 

I guess the result is that Chromecast is not able to be installed on Verizon FIOS networks.


I'm surprised "expert care" would say that as its wrong.  As stated its hidden on some routers (Rev I being one of them).   The jump I posted in December works once you logon to the router.

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=900

 

IGMP proxy (often needs to be turned off)  was posted by Bigdaddy on dslreports.com and is

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

 

Contributor
RokITman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

Neither dis/enabling UPnP nor IGMP had any effect.  My Chromecast is attached and set up - all that when fine.  My TV shows "ready to cast" and the Cast app on my laptop sees and can communicate with my Chromecast.  But when I press the "Google Cast" button in Chrome, it says "No Cast devices found"

 

What am I missing?  I have an Actiontex MI424WR-GEN2, Rev F router with firmware version 20.19.8.  There is no network setting under Wireless, Advances Security in my router.

 

My error reads "Learn More: AP Isolation is enabled".  I find that nowhere in my router.

Bronze Contributor II
ocean25
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


RokITman wrote:

Neither dis/enabling UPnP nor IGMP had any effect.  My Chromecast is attached and set up - all that when fine.  My TV shows "ready to cast" and the Cast app on my laptop sees and can communicate with my Chromecast.  But when I press the "Google Cast" button in Chrome, it says "No Cast devices found"

 

What am I missing?  I have an Actiontex MI424WR-GEN2, Rev F router with firmware version 20.19.8.  There is no network setting under Wireless, Advances Security in my router.

 

My error reads "Learn More: AP Isolation is enabled".  I find that nowhere in my router.


   You might have to call Tech Support. I know that many complain, but I've had nothing

   but great support from them on similiar issues.

 

   Good luck!

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411