Customers With Disabilities
Reply
AJL
Contributor
AJL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos

Chromecast on FIOS

When I setup the Chromecast device on my network, Google's setup complains that I need UPnP enabled on my router.

 

After a bit of googling, I see that the Actiontec router has broken UPnP, but there is a possible solution by disabling IGMP.  I tried disabling IGMP on my router, but that did not correct the problem.

 

Has anyone successfully installed Chromecast on their router, and could tell me what version of firmware you are using?

Silver Contributor II
JOSEm441
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

IF you login to the router then go here http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900 you can access the UPnP settings

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Nickel Contributor
ronzie
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


JOSEm441 wrote:

IF you login to the router then go here http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900 you can access the UPnP settings


We just ordered a Chromecast, and I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network. When trying to access that link, our Actiontec MI424-WR Rev C router with firmware version 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.14.4 just takes me back to the login page, even though I am already logged in. Running Firefox 22 on Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

MVP
Anti-Phish
Posts: 1,061
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

ronzie wrote:

I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network.


 

The UPnP page is not hidden on the rev. C.  You don't need that link.

Simply go to Advanced, click on the Universal Plug and Play link.

 

UPnP is enabled by default.  So unless you've explicitly disabled it, you shouldn't need to enable it.

 

 

 

Nickel Contributor
ronzie
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-15-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


Anti-Phish wrote:

ronzie wrote:

I am interested in knowing what steps to take to enable its use on our network.


 

The UPnP page is not hidden on the rev. C.  You don't need that link.

Simply go to Advanced, click on the Universal Plug and Play link.

 

UPnP is enabled by default.  So unless you've explicitly disabled it, you shouldn't need to enable it.

 

 

 


Thanks, I found it. Now just have to wait for them to ship it.

AJL
Contributor
AJL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

Unfortunately, none of these suggestions worked.

 

After speaking with Verizon Expert Care, I was told that Verizon FIOS does not support UPnP, as they only provide Internet Access.

 

I have the Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I (hardware version I), with firmware version 40.20.7.  Perhaps previous versions of this router have UPnP working, but this version does not.

 

I guess the result is that Chromecast is not able to be installed on Verizon FIOS networks.

Contributor
keddren
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

I have an older MI424-WR D router, so what worked for me may not work for you, but I'll throw it out there anyway.  

 

I had to go into the wireless settings, into advanced security settings, then into other advanced wireless settings and change Network from Network (Home/Office) to Broadband.  I have no idea what specifically that does (and Actiontec support is being of absolutely no help) but that let me connect my Chromecast to my wireless.

 

Hope this helps.

MVP
TNS_2
Posts: 1,232
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

AJL wrote:

Unfortunately, none of these suggestions worked.

 

After speaking with Verizon Expert Care, I was told that Verizon FIOS does not support UPnP, as they only provide Internet Access.

 

I have the Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I (hardware version I), with firmware version 40.20.7.  Perhaps previous versions of this router have UPnP working, but this version does not.

 

I guess the result is that Chromecast is not able to be installed on Verizon FIOS networks.


I'm surprised "expert care" would say that as its wrong.  As stated its hidden on some routers (Rev I being one of them).   The jump I posted in December works once you logon to the router.

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=900

 

IGMP proxy (often needs to be turned off)  was posted by Bigdaddy on dslreports.com and is

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

 

Contributor
RokITman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

Neither dis/enabling UPnP nor IGMP had any effect.  My Chromecast is attached and set up - all that when fine.  My TV shows "ready to cast" and the Cast app on my laptop sees and can communicate with my Chromecast.  But when I press the "Google Cast" button in Chrome, it says "No Cast devices found"

 

What am I missing?  I have an Actiontex MI424WR-GEN2, Rev F router with firmware version 20.19.8.  There is no network setting under Wireless, Advances Security in my router.

 

My error reads "Learn More: AP Isolation is enabled".  I find that nowhere in my router.

Bronze Contributor II
ocean25
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


RokITman wrote:

Neither dis/enabling UPnP nor IGMP had any effect.  My Chromecast is attached and set up - all that when fine.  My TV shows "ready to cast" and the Cast app on my laptop sees and can communicate with my Chromecast.  But when I press the "Google Cast" button in Chrome, it says "No Cast devices found"

 

What am I missing?  I have an Actiontex MI424WR-GEN2, Rev F router with firmware version 20.19.8.  There is no network setting under Wireless, Advances Security in my router.

 

My error reads "Learn More: AP Isolation is enabled".  I find that nowhere in my router.


   You might have to call Tech Support. I know that many complain, but I've had nothing

   but great support from them on similiar issues.

 

   Good luck!

 

Shop FiOS

  • FiOS Internet
  • FiOS TV
  • FiOS Digital Voice
  • FiOS Deals

Account & Services

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools