Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  
  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Gold Contributor V
somegirl
Posts: 2,960
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Location: Texas
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


keddren wrote:

I have an older MI424-WR D router, so what worked for me may not work for you, but I'll throw it out there anyway.  

 

I had to go into the wireless settings, into advanced security settings, then into other advanced wireless settings and change Network from Network (Home/Office) to Broadband.  I have no idea what specifically that does (and Actiontec support is being of absolutely no help) but that let me connect my Chromecast to my wireless.

 

Hope this helps.


This is all over my head, but FWIW, I found this setting on my MI424WR-GEN3I by going to My Network (top) then Network Connections (left) and clicking on the Network I wanted to change, then clicking the Settings button (bottom). Options were Broadband Connection, Network (Home/Office), or DMZ.

 

I'm not confident enough to mess with these, since my network is working fine, but perhaps it will help one of you guys.

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Contributor
RokITman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


somegirl wrote:

This is all over my head, but FWIW, I found this setting on my MI424WR-GEN3I by going to My Network (top) then Network Connections (left) and clicking on the Network I wanted to change, then clicking the Settings button (bottom). Options were Broadband Connection, Network (Home/Office), or DMZ


I was excited when I found the mystery setting using your instructions, unfortunately, changing this from Home/Office to Broadband Connection disabled my Internet access.  Thank you though.

 

My next call will be to Verizon Tech Support.

AJL
Contributor
AJL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

TNS_2 wrote:

 

          I'm surprised "expert care" would say that as its wrong.  As stated

          its hidden on some routers (Rev I being one of them).   The jump I

          posted in December works once you logon to the router.

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=900

 

          IGMP proxy (often needs to be turned off)  was posted by Bigdaddy

          on dslreports.com and is

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

 

I mentioned both of these links to the rep, but was met with silence.  His final suggestion was to get more people to complain about support for Chromecast, because it won't work on current configs.  With enough complaints, perhaps Verizon corporate would change their policy.

 

I also spoke to Actiontec support, asking how to enable UPnP.  He said it's disabled at Verizon's request on this modem.  I told him about the links, and he said the pages are there, but they don't actually control any fumctionality, as it's disabled.  He suggested setting a DMZ and opening some ports, but that didn't work, either.

Gold Contributor VII
Smith6612
Posts: 5,960
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

As a workaround, if any of you have an extra router sitting around, could you try connecting both your PC and Chromecast to the extra router? I really feel like the recent firmware upgrades for the Rev. I have messed with traffic handling. That seems to be the biggest complaint I see around here for otherwise perfectly capable hardware.

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
Contributor
rbcole123
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

Any more updates on this?  I can't connect Chromecast using my Actiontec M1424-WR Rev. F router.  Verizon tech support was of no help -- had never heard of Chromecast.  

Bronze Contributor I
Namronorman
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


AJL wrote:

TNS_2 wrote:

 

          I'm surprised "expert care" would say that as its wrong.  As stated

          its hidden on some routers (Rev I being one of them).   The jump I

          posted in December works once you logon to the router.

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=900

 

          IGMP proxy (often needs to be turned off)  was posted by Bigdaddy

          on dslreports.com and is

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

 

I mentioned both of these links to the rep, but was met with silence.  His final suggestion was to get more people to complain about support for Chromecast, because it won't work on current configs.  With enough complaints, perhaps Verizon corporate would change their policy.

 

I also spoke to Actiontec support, asking how to enable UPnP.  He said it's disabled at Verizon's request on this modem.  I told him about the links, and he said the pages are there, but they don't actually control any fumctionality, as it's disabled.  He suggested setting a DMZ and opening some ports, but that didn't work, either.


I highly doubt enough complaints would get Verizon to change anything. Have you looked at their facebook page? It's mostly full of people complaining with zero results. Thanks to heavily biased (towards Verizon) two year contracts, they have most people where they want them. Between that and near zero expansion, I don't think Verizon is overly interested nor do they care.

Contributor
ivaniceman
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

I have had similar issues as everyone else.  I just got the chromecast today and I could get through the setup all the way to when the chromecast was trying to connect to my Verizon Router.

 

I have a MI424-WR Rev C Firmware: 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.14.4

 

I turned off IGMP Proxy - didn't work

I checked the Wireless Settings -> Advanced Security Settings -> Other Advanced Wireless Options -> Switch Network to Broadband - it was already set to Broadband

I went into Advanced -> Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) and checked the two check boxes - didn't work

 

I finally tried switching the Wireless Settings -> Advanced Security Settings -> Other Advanced Wireless Options Networking - Broadband over to Network (Home/Office) and I was able to connect!!!!!!

 

This Network setting seems to be the opposite of what other people are saying, but maybe something along the way triggered it as well.  This was definitely not an easy set up.

 

I hope this helps. 

Contributor
CB83
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

I have a MI424-WR Rev I.

 

I am not sure I am having a router issue because casting through my nexus tablet (youtube, netflix, etc.) works, as does casting the entire screen from Chrome. The only feature that does not work is casting a single tab. Of course, this is an important feature because it's the only way to get audio through the television in addition to video.

 

I have been through all of Chromecast's troubleshooting steps, reinstalled everything, and have also tried all of the steps listed in this post above.

 

Has anyone else experienced this issue? Any addiitonal thoughts? Thank you!

Silver Contributor V
TNS_2
Posts: 1,951
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Chromecast on FIOS


AJL wrote:

TNS_2 wrote:

 

          I'm surprised "expert care" would say that as its wrong.  As stated

          its hidden on some routers (Rev I being one of them).   The jump I

          posted in December works once you logon to the router.

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=900

 

          IGMP proxy (often needs to be turned off)  was posted by Bigdaddy

          on dslreports.com and is

          http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

 

I mentioned both of these links to the rep, but was met with silence.  His final suggestion was to get more people to complain about support for Chromecast, because it won't work on current configs.  With enough complaints, perhaps Verizon corporate would change their policy.

 

I also spoke to Actiontec support, asking how to enable UPnP.  He said it's disabled at Verizon's request on this modem.  I told him about the links, and he said the pages are there, but they don't actually control any fumctionality, as it's disabled.  He suggested setting a DMZ and opening some ports, but that didn't work, either.


Despite what they said the posted work. 

Contributor
dimroc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: Chromecast on FIOS

[ Edited ]

Just wanted to give a note to others who might swing by this forum for help. Thanks to ivaniceman, the following worked for me:

 

"I turned off IGMP Proxy - didn't work

I checked the Wireless Settings -> Advanced Security Settings -> Other Advanced Wireless Options -> Switch Network to Broadband - (Mine was not already set to Broadband)"

 

Boom, it worked. It seems toggling between Network to Broadband triggers something. 

 

Good luck all.

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411