FIOS internet problems.... WHY ME???!!!!!
j_cizzo
Enthusiast - Level 1

I wish I had this kinda luck with the lottery tickets...   EVERYONE says 'fios is great!!  get fios!!!  i'm naming my first born Fios!!..."

so, after being a loyal and generally very satisfied cablevision customer for several years, I thought verizon had the bugs worked out of their package and all should be great by now...  WRONG!!!

I place the order on 12/7 or 12/8 with a rep who was very friendly and pleasant to talk with (so far so good), she scheduled an appointment for the install that friday (2 days later, i was impressed, again so far so good), the technician to do the install showed up early and was awesome! (His name was Patrick and was "THE MAN!", really nice, put a lot of effort into his work, wanted to get it done right the old-school way).  I was a network engineer gone-finance, have all cisco equipment in my house with cat 6 cabling for my workstation(s)..  he saw my gear, knew i wasn't an average user and was professional about it (ie. didn't give me line after line like the phone-based tech support does). 

So, after all was said and done, we plug in the gear and blaaaah, my 35/35 connection was running only at about 8/9..  thru various tests, i figured that someone had my provisioning set for half-duplex.. Patrick called one of his back-office tech buddies and that sunday viola, full-duplex and i was cruising at a consistent 43/36..  

for the rest of the week before cancelling cablevision i put my connection thru the ringer to make sure all was stable and ready to link to the exchanges (stock markets) and all was great!  i cancelled my cablevision service and all seemed good...