Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
snsjbe
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps

[ Edited ]

The router is equipped with the WPS button. So I purchased a wireless printer that uses wps. But I cannot get the router to connect to it. Could this be a problem with the router?

 

 

**hardware version E

Silver Contributor IV
Anti-Phish
Posts: 1,081
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps


snsjbe wrote:

The router is equipped with the WPS button. So I purchased a wireless printer that uses wps. But I cannot get the router to connect to it. Could this be a problem with the router?


WPS is not supported on the Actiontec.

 

Contributor
shellwat
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-16-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps

i am installing a wireless printer and i have to press the wps button on my router  where is the wps button

MVP
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,391
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps

WPS is not supported on the Actiontec.

Contributor
mquisto
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps

Okay but my HP ePrint printer says if WPS is not supported then to enter the printer's PIN into the router's configuration. I have looked on 192.168.1.1 and cannot see where to enter the printers PIN?
MVP
TNS_2
Posts: 1,606
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps


mquisto wrote:
Okay but my HP ePrint printer says if WPS is not supported then to enter the printer's PIN into the router's configuration. I have looked on 192.168.1.1 and cannot see where to enter the printers PIN?

That is still using WPS.  WPS pin rather than WPS button.

 

You have to go the whole nine yards and define the security type, ssid, and passkey/passphrase.

Gold Contributor VII
Smith6612
Posts: 5,781
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Fios Router MI424WR-GEN2 and wps

Most, if not all HP Printers should allow you to set up the Wi-Fi using an automatic scan feature, or as suggested above, manually. Some require you to actually plug the printer in via USB if you have a cable supplied with the printer and set them up Wirelessly that way. Otherwise, check for a Wirelesss Setup Wizard or Advanced Wireless Setup if the Wizard isn't helpful. The user manual should outline all of this.

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools