Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  
  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
Xyrium
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
0 Kudos

How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

Hello,

 

I have Fios using the MI424-WR router, hardware version D, firmware 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.12.3.  However, I need to another TV to my network, and want to determine the incoming signal strength off of the splitter heading into the router. Also, what is the acceptable level for this signal?

 

Thanks!

Paul

Employee Emeritus
VZ_Shawn
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

Hey Xyrium. Digital outlets (tv) should be between -6 dBmV and +13 dBmV. Let me know if this helps.

Contributor
Xyrium
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
0 Kudos

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

Thanks Shawn, that's good info. Any idea how to check this at the router level? My old cable modem (Motoral Networfer or something) had this feature. I'm trying to determine if I can afford to hit the router with a -7dB outlet from a splitter, and use the 3.5dB for a secondary splitter that will feed two TVs downstream.

Employee Emeritus
VZ_Shawn
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎09-15-2010

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

The threshold for the router outlet is -10 dBmV to +13 dBmV.

Contributor
Xyrium
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
0 Kudos

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

THanks. ANy idea how to determine what I'm currently obtaining at that port?

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,403
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

Does this help you any

 

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16569

 

?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
Xyrium
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
0 Kudos

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

Thanks. I am the OP, and I suppose it's one way to determine how the change will affect the router when I move to a 7dB port on the splitter. I prefer to see signal strength in dB, but I suppose this will suffice if no one else comes up with the exact answer by this weekend.

 

Thanks again!

Silver Contributor IV
jumpin68ny
Posts: 1,766
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

I'm not sure if you can do that on the Actiontec router but are you aware you can determine what the dB is on the STB? 

 

Go to:  Menu, Customer Support, Self Diagnostics.  

 

Jim

Contributor
Xyrium
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2010

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

[ Edited ]

 

 

Ok, I'll check the STBs, but I found this from the router. The two other devices are the DVRs I suppose:

 

Router   Device 1   Device 2

208.39      214.65      218.72                         

213.85 

 

It appears that the signal from the 7dB ports on the splitter are feeding the DVRs a better signal than the router gets on the 3.5dB port. Am I reading this correctly? Therefore, I think I'd rather keep the router on the 3.5dB port and add a second splitter to a 7dB port to feed another TV. Sound about right?

 

Thanks for your help with this!

Paul

 

Edit: Ok, I get 19dB at one box and 26dB at the other STB. Oddly, the one at the 19dB level is closer to the splitter by about 15 feet. Bad cable? Are these satisfactory numbers (same as the recommendations for the router above)?

 

Platinum Contributor I
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,722
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: How to check incoming signal strength (in dB) on Actiontec MI424-WR

I would say to hook up an stb using the routes coax cable and use it as your meter. You can either hit power > select > select and choose in band status for your snr dB. Or the menu as described. Optimal range for tv signal is 32-36.
 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411