Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
muelldog
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
0 Kudos

How to move Wifi Router

Hello, I am wondering how to move my M1424WR Wifi router. It does not reach some places of my house because the Verizon man who installed it put it in a corner in my basement. It uses a power cord and a coax cord which connects to a splitter. Then the splitter connects to the Verizon white box. I was wondering if I was to move it to a better location where to plug the COAX cord into. 

 

Any help would be very appreciated, thanks. 

Silver Contributor III
walt178
Posts: 954
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: How to move Wifi Router


muelldog wrote:

Hello, I am wondering how to move my M1424WR Wifi router. It does not reach some places of my house because the Verizon man who installed it put it in a corner in my basement. It uses a power cord and a coax cord which connects to a splitter. Then the splitter connects to the Verizon white box. I was wondering if I was to move it to a better location where to plug the COAX cord into. 

 

Any help would be very appreciated, thanks. 


You can connect to any COAX that comes from your ONT.   If you have FiOS TV you can use a splitter and connect there.  Or run an additional COAX from an existing line to where you want your router.

 

 

Contributor
muelldog
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router

I have Verizon TV. I dont know much about all the verizon stuff. So I can just Connect the COAX into my verizon fios tv box? Or do I get another splitter or something... Sorry Im a bit confused with all this stuff

Silver Contributor III
walt178
Posts: 954
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: How to move Wifi Router


muelldog wrote:

I have Verizon TV. I dont know much about all the verizon stuff. So I can just Connect the COAX into my verizon fios tv box? Or do I get another splitter or something... Sorry Im a bit confused with all this stuff


Disconnect the COAX from your STB. Connect that cable to the input of a splitter, then run one output to the STB and  another output to your router. 

Contributor
muelldog
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router

Do I have to buy another splitter? Or do I use the one that is already being used. Thanks

Silver Contributor III
walt178
Posts: 954
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: How to move Wifi Router


muelldog wrote:

Do I have to buy another splitter? Or do I use the one that is already being used. Thanks


You can use the one you have.  The only reason for the splitter is to connect more devices to one cable.  So as long you can connect everything at the original router location, the splitter isn't needed there.

Contributor
muelldog
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router

Thank you so much :smileyhappy:

Contributor
muelldog
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router

Sorry to ask again but when I tried to move the router i plugged the ethernet cable into the back of the fios box and the other cord that was originally into the splitter. But, my internet did not work. It would connect to the wifi but there was no internet connection. Is this a problem with the router? Or do I just need to wait a little but longer? THanks

Silver Contributor IV
Anti-Phish
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router


muelldog wrote:

i plugged the ethernet cable into the back of the fios box


 

What do you mean by "the FIOS box"?.  The ONT?: The router?  Or a Set Top Box (STB)?

If you're referring to a STB, the RJ45 jack on the back of the STB is not enabled.

 

What Walt178 was referring to was this:

 

ONT---coax---splitter+---coax---STB

                     +---coax--router

 

Make sure the splitter is rated at least 1Ghz.

 

 

 

All Star
viafax999
Posts: 1,729
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Device: Chromecast tv phone
Plan: Digital Voice, 75/35
Location: Westford MA
0 Kudos

Re: How to move Wifi Router


muelldog wrote:

Hello, I am wondering how to move my M1424WR Wifi router. It does not reach some places of my house because the Verizon man who installed it put it in a corner in my basement. It uses a power cord and a coax cord which connects to a splitter. Then the splitter connects to the Verizon white box. I was wondering if I was to move it to a better location where to plug the COAX cord into. 

 

Any help would be very appreciated, thanks. 


The splitter that has a coax going to your router has another connection that's connected to your huse network so you can connect the router anywhere that is on your house coax network.

 

Take the  router and the coax that goes from the splitter to the router and take them to the new location - I'd guess a coax port at one of your STB's.  There you will disconnect the coax from the wall to the STB and in it's place put a new splitter and connect the stb to the splitter, the other side of the splitter connect the router.

 

If the cable at the splitter at the ont is long enough connect the house side directly to the ont and take the splitter and the ont coax with the router to the new location and use them there instead of buying a new splitter and short coax cable.

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools