SMTP Port 25 blocked to my own relay server?
Pete65
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hi all,

I am a noob to this forum. So dont smake me to hard.

I have the Verizon Wireless/router/modem I was looking around in there to allow me to use my hp scanner to connect to a smtp server across the wan. The firewall on the other side is allowing my traffic in so I should be able to hit the relay server (NOT VERIZON'S) but I have my own in a remote location but I cannot get it to work communicate on port 25.

If I open port 27 ESMTP on the destination and change the smtp server to use it then I can telnet ipaddress 27 and I would get the HELO response but not the case with port 25. Of course you maybe thinking "Why dont you set your scanner for 27"? Well I wish I could or I would not be in this forum 🙂

Its an HP 4100MFP scanner and there is an option of "SMTP" i enter the SMTP gateway address and thats it no other option.

So I will assume its blocked even though I want to hit my own smtp relay server ip ? I suppose my only other option is to put a firewall in and just vpn to the destination and be done with it. Anyhow I wanted to ask the group in this forum.

I have seen a few things on SMTP before I posted but not exactly what I wanted, it seems folks want access to smtp period but I just want access to my own SMTP server in a remote location.. So is it possible on port 25 or am I over looking something in my verizon mia424wr.

I assure you its NOT the destination.

thanks for reading. 

Re: SMTP Port 25 blocked to my own relay server?
Hubrisnxs
Legend

No ports are blocked on business accounts with static IP addresses. 

or port 80 info, see: »Verizon Online FiOS FAQ »What about Port 80 - is it blocked?