Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
btsullivan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
0 Kudos

Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec

I bought a Netgear N600 wireless router.

 

I plugged the CAT-5 cable into one of the LAN slots on Verizon's Actiontec modem/router.

 

The good news? I am seeing a wireless signal from the netgear device

 

The bad news?   The Actiontech is still broadcasting a wireless signal AND my internet range/speeds are the same as before.  

 

I would like to know how to set up the Netgear router as my ONLY wireless router.   I know i have to 'go into' the Actiontech device and turn off wireless ... but I have NO idea how to do that.   I am using a Mac and am unable to find any Verizon software that would allow me to access this.

 

Any and all help on this is appreciated.

 

Brian

Platinum Contributor I
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,616
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec


btsullivan wrote:

I bought a Netgear N600 wireless router.

 

I plugged the CAT-5 cable into one of the LAN slots on Verizon's Actiontec modem/router.

 

The good news? I am seeing a wireless signal from the netgear device

 

The bad news?   The Actiontech is still broadcasting a wireless signal AND my internet range/speeds are the same as before.  

 

I would like to know how to set up the Netgear router as my ONLY wireless router.   I know i have to 'go into' the Actiontech device and turn off wireless ... but I have NO idea how to do that.   I am using a Mac and am unable to find any Verizon software that would allow me to access this.

 

Any and all help on this is appreciated.

 

Brian


to get into the actiontec you have to do it through the web, so open a browser.   put in 192.168.1.1   

 

user name is admin

password is your serial number (usually it's caps I think for the letters)  

             find your serial number on your service tag.   its by the bar code.

 

then once your in go to wireless at the top.    and then basic security settings on the left.

 

when you're in the basic you'll see "wireless"   on/off.   just hit off, and hit apply/save at the bottom.  

All Star
viafax999
Posts: 1,724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Device: Chromecast tv phone
Plan: Digital Voice, 75/35
Location: Westford MA

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec


btsullivan wrote:

I bought a Netgear N600 wireless router.

 

I plugged the CAT-5 cable into one of the LAN slots on Verizon's Actiontec modem/router.

 

The good news? I am seeing a wireless signal from the netgear device

 

The bad news?   The Actiontech is still broadcasting a wireless signal AND my internet range/speeds are the same as before.  

 

I would like to know how to set up the Netgear router as my ONLY wireless router.   I know i have to 'go into' the Actiontech device and turn off wireless ... but I have NO idea how to do that.   I am using a Mac and am unable to find any Verizon software that would allow me to access this.

 

Any and all help on this is appreciated.

 

Brian


 

There is no issue with having both routers broadcasting wireless signals, I have 3 routers broadcasting here.  You just need to make sure that you are connecting to the netgear one.

Unless you had a poor wireless-g signal it's unlikely that switching from wireless-g to wirelss-n will make any difference to your internet access speed as both wireless signals will already exceed your actual fios speed.

Contributor
btsullivan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec

Thank you for both the replies.

 

I currently have both wireless signals running (the new Netgear and the old FiOS Actiontec)...

 

Here is my issue: I use AppleTV at home and with the new version (all streaming video) I have noticed how slow the wireless G network in my home is.

 

I purchased the wireless N router in the hope of speeding up my wireless signal as well as increasing my wireless range.

 

Having both wireless signals isn't a bad thing .. but it doesnt accomplish my goal of speeding up the network.

 

So any advice on how to 1) speed up the wireless signal and 2) increase the range of my network is very much appreciated.

 

Brian

Silver Contributor IV
Anti-Phish
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec


btsullivan wrote:

 

So any advice on how to 1) speed up the wireless signal and 2) increase the range of my network is very much appreciated.

 

Brian


1)  Disable the wireless-G on the Actiontec.  Make sure the wireless-N on the Netgear is assigned a 40Mhz channel in the 5Ghz band.

All Star
viafax999
Posts: 1,724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Device: Chromecast tv phone
Plan: Digital Voice, 75/35
Location: Westford MA
0 Kudos

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec


btsullivan wrote:

Thank you for both the replies.

 

I currently have both wireless signals running (the new Netgear and the old FiOS Actiontec)...

 

Here is my issue: I use AppleTV at home and with the new version (all streaming video) I have noticed how slow the wireless G network in my home is.

 

I purchased the wireless N router in the hope of speeding up my wireless signal as well as increasing my wireless range.

 

Having both wireless signals isn't a bad thing .. but it doesnt accomplish my goal of speeding up the network.

 

So any advice on how to 1) speed up the wireless signal and 2) increase the range of my network is very much appreciated.

 

Brian


Make sure that the apple TV is connecting to the wireless-n ssid.

As I said before it may still not speed up your internet access as both routers wireless capabilities probably exceed the fios download speed.  Wireless-n will extend your wireless range.

Silver Contributor IV
jumpin68ny
Posts: 1,766
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Setting Up Netgear Wireless Router w/Fios Actiontec

If you want to use both routers make sure they are set to use a different channel. Make sure they don't overlap.

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools