VPN connection issue
lfreeman1

I have been working over VPN for several years without difficulties and am suddenly having problems. (Nothing has changed at my end -- same machine, same service, same connection). 

Certain applications (not all) on my company network repeatedly ask me to log back in after connecting to the network, or I get booted off for no apparent reason. I have no such difficulty when I work via remote desktop. Internal IT thinks that the problem is with my Verizon service and asks me to ask if Verizon is using a proxy. I do not have a dedicated IP address.

Don't know if this is enough information, and I'm kinda at the limit of my understanding of these things. Appreciate any help.

0 Likes
Re: VPN connection issue
Anthony_VZ
Master - Level 3

No we do not use a proxy for your connection. I can't say what's going on with the VPN connection there. Are you losing complete internet connection or just to the VPN? If you are losing complete connection then that is something we have control over and to send me a private message. If its just the connection to your VPN or access to certain servers you will want to reach back out to your IT group.

0 Likes
kalamaloo

I have the same problem! I set up a VPN and it worked for a while and all of a sudden stopped working recently. Nothing has changed, the router settings stayed the same, vpn server settings stayed the same, etc. What's going on?

I checked to see if port 1701 is open and it says it's blocked.

I can only assume that the ISP (Verizon) has blocked this port. I contacted support and he/she said they don't block ports. I will need to call their tier 2 technical support. I hope I don't require a business plan. 

0 Likes
Mystic3