Customers With Disabilities
Reply
Copper Contributor
Xclusive
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Which Channel should i use for my network

Which Channel

Silver Contributor IV
jumpin68ny
Posts: 1,763
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

Are you talking about wireless?  Networks come in various flavors, wired or  wireless.

 

For wireless LAN, The best is to use automatic but if you want to select a channel, you must use 1, 6, or 11.

 

 

Nickel Contributor
hracer
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎04-09-2011

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

use this software to find what channels your neighbors are using the most. Then use another channel that is used the least. You want to use the channel that is not used the most. Hope that helps.

 

Silver Contributor IV
jumpin68ny
Posts: 1,763
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

In case you are not comfortable installing software recommended by hracer, the auto channel selection is supposed to listen and see what other devices are in use and if a conflict exists its supposed to change the channel automatically.  

 

Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,702
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network


jumpin68ny wrote:

In case you are not comfortable installing software recommended by hracer, the auto channel selection is supposed to listen and see what other devices are in use and if a conflict exists its supposed to change the channel automatically.  

 


Yeah, but my experience is that the auto switching really does not work very well. Of course YMMV. My recommendation is to try channels 1, 6, and 11, and see which performs the best. If none perform up to expectations, then I highly recommend installing inSSIDer, it is simple and easy and free, and you can easily see what the activity is on all of the channels near your home.

 

And of course, depending on what OS you are running, there may be some tuning options in the PCs that can improve things. But I would try setting the channels first.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, Internet, and phone user
QIP7232, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248 

Silver Contributor IV
jumpin68ny
Posts: 1,763
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

Justin, I agree with you and that is why I said "supposed" to.  LOL

Bronze Contributor III
cjacobs001
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Device: Assus Tablet Droid
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

The OP does not say what s\he knows about the wireless spectrum, nor anyting about why s\he is asking the question, so I throw in this:  a few more considerations include that other devices in your imediate area may also be on the same frequency, and they all usually start at channel 1 and move up to 2, then 3, then 4 etc looking for an available channel.   things like some older cordless phones (not talking about cellular), baby monitors, wireless satellite TV transmission, wireless blue ray, etc.etc

 

cjacobs001
Contributor
ArCan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Which Channel should i use for my network

[ Edited ]

Hi!

Do you know about RFI, EMI, signal strength and level of noise?

You should find the best channel with minimum RFI, EMI, NoiseLevel and maximum signal strength.

IMHO

 

P.S. Even if you are not familiar with FCC rules and don't want crack max output power your router, WiFi card etc.

or even frequencies and number of channels

you always can find the best channel and sometimes it's not 1, 6 or 11 or of course others on 5GHz WiFi band

because every antenna doesn't have same SWR on all frequencies and ...

bla bla bla

Sorry my native language is Russian :robotvery-happy:

 

God Bless America ! :smileyvery-happy:

 

 

 

Shop FiOS

  • FiOS Internet
  • FiOS TV
  • FiOS Digital Voice
  • FiOS Deals

Account & Services

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools