Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

is there anything on verizon.com that tell how to set up a mac to work with fios?  (both email and internet) i'm only finding dial-up info.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,383
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

Points you to:

 

http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/HighSpeed/Email/Setup+And+Use/QuestionsOne/86782.htm?caseRe...

 

While I am on DSL, I am sure those are the correct settings.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

i've entered that info for the email but it's not letting me get online and i can't find anything that tells me how to set a mac up to work with fios.  this is what happens:

 

-open safari

-choose network port configuration to use - ethernet, airPort or other (i selected airPort)

-select network you wish to join (mine for fios is listed, i select that)

-do you use DHCP or PPPoE (select DHCP for no user/pass required to get online)

-do you use a DSL or cable modem to connect to internet (yes or no - do i say yes for fios?

-if i say yes, it says please restart the device. 

 

how do i restart fios?  i've never even touched the black think i think is a router.  i don't want to lose my fios!!!

 

 

 

Gold Contributor I
spacedebris
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

I'd start with rebooting the router. (black box with a bunch of green lights on the front and an antenna on the back). Turn it off for 30 seconds and then turn it back on.

 

 

Then to connect a mac It should be as simple as....

 

click the airport symbol in the top right hand corner of the screen

 

find your network in the list and click on it

 

It should ask for the network password, enter your wep key number

 

and you should now be online

 

 

 

Now if this doenst work, one of the quirks of some Mac computers is that they dont like the WEP security. You may want to try changing the security on the router to WPA and then connect again.

 

With any luck one of these two will get you running.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

is the answer yes or no to this:

-do you use a DSL or cable modem to connect to internet (yes or no - do i say yes for fios?

 

i don't have cables in my laptop to work with fios/the router but do i need to say yes and use the cable to get it set up on the mac?  

 

verizon should really have it written out step by step how to do this.....

Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

how do i find what the network key is?  i've had fios for 2.5 years and it's automatically entered as ********.

Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

do i select ethernet or airPort for this?

 

-choose network port configuration to use - ethernet, airPort or other

 

 

i turned off the router and turned it back on.  on the mac i don't see an airport symbol but there's a list of available networks and my fios is on it.  but then it still goes to this:

 

do you use a DSL or cable modem to connect to internet - how do i answer that?

 

and then it tells me to restart the device.

 

 

your other option--- how do i change the security on the router to WPA?

Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

well, i gave up came back to use my pc to post here, went back and it said 'your network configuration has changed' and gave me a screen to enter the wep code.  looks like i'm online now!

 

thanks for your help!

Copper Contributor
bailey
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

i went back to try the email and it says:

 

cannot send message using the server outgoing.verizon.net

 

Gold Contributor V
somegirl
Posts: 2,941
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Location: Texas
0 Kudos

Re: setting up a mac (email/internet) to work with fios

 


bailey wrote:

i went back to try the email and it says:

 

cannot send message using the server outgoing.verizon.net

 


 

Was there more to the error?

 

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools