Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
mm-nyc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
0 Kudos

Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

My on demand HBO 3D shows all show a split screen.  All other 3D programming works correctly, but the HBO 3D on demand shows a split screen with the same video feed showing on each side.  Is anyone else having this problem or have a fix?

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
tns
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

HBO 3d is broadcast as side by side.  As far as I know the STB's do not yet send the correct HDMI info to tell the TV to switch this to 3d mode.  On my Samsung, I just switch it to that mode and the picture is then shown as 3D.  Is your STB set to 720P?  You may have to switch to 1080I as 720P side by side is a Optional 3d mode and some 3d Sets do not support it.

Contributor
frankland7
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-16-2012

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

There are two 3D formats for television (side-by-side and over-under).  If you watch either of these on a TV that is not a 3DTV or watch on a 3D TV without glasses, you will see a split screen.

 

I am not sure that I understand your question, but if the problem is that you are using a 3DTV and 3D glasses, but are still getting a split screen, you might need to select the correct 3D format (under-over or side-by-side).  Sometimes this occurs automatically, sometimes it must be set.

 

To select the corrrect format, use your TV remote.  The process will vary by manufacturer, but on my LG TV the button is called "3D".  It brings up a screen and gives me 3 choices:

 

Over-under

Side-by-side

2D-3D (used to simulate 3D on regular 2D programming).

 

On my set, when I select a show from HBO 3D, I FIRST see the split screen, and I then get a prompt to put on my glasses.  Once I push SELECT on the FIOS remote, it changes to a single 3D image.

 

I hope this helps.

Contributor
mkut
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-22-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

Why do I get  split screen when I oredr 3d movies on demand. I do havce an LG but when setting the TV to 3D I do not get  an "over under/side by side" option. . All other 3d features are shown corrcetly.

Silver Contributor I
film11
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎08-06-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen


mkut wrote:

Why do I get  split screen when I oredr 3d movies on demand. I do havce an LG but when setting the TV to 3D I do not get  an "over under/side by side" option. . All other 3d features are shown corrcetly.


I have an LG and I just press the #D button on the remote.  Then I press OK on the pop-that appears.  The format options then appear for you to select.  II actually have a different problem with HBO 3D...the audio lags a bit (where the audio doesn't match the lip movements exactly.)  Only happens with HBO 3D (Starz is ok.)   Just another part of HBO's policy of ruining movies (such as their cropping widescreen movies), I guess.  Very annoying.  Anyone else experience this?

Contributor
PamolaSmith
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

This didn't work for us at all. We can simply choose to split our screen vertically or horizontally. 

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
tns
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

[ Edited ]

PamolaSmith wrote:

This didn't work for us at all. We can simply choose to split our screen vertically or horizontally. 


Since the earlier posts in this thread, Verizon has added the signal that should correcly switch most Tv's to 3d mode.

 

What "didn't work"?

 

Note that some TV models cannot handle HBO 3D at 720P side-by-side or espn 3d at 1080i top-bottom.  These not being the native formats for these stations and being optional 3d formats.

MVP
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,337
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

the 7xxx stb's do the auto switching, the 6xxx stb's do not.   

Silver Contributor I
film11
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎08-06-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios HBO 3D On Demand Split Screen

One more thing...make sure your video feed is NOT component.  It should always be HDMI for 3D.  If you are using component, the 3D options won't work (except for the 2D to 3D selection).

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools