Customers With Disabilities
Reply
Copper Contributor
LTrotter
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-05-2011

TCM HD update?

Howdy! Just a question, if I may: Does anyone have any word on when Turner Classic Movies HD will be added to the Verizon FiOS lineup? The addition of TCM HD was accepted last year and added to the channel queue (as stated here: http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Share-Your-Ideas-with-Verizon/Turner-Classic-Movies-HD/idi-p/236499). I was wondering if we could get some idea as to when we may get the channel or at least what progress has been made. Thanks!

Employee
Mike_VZ
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?

Hello LTrotter,

I am sorry but we do not provide dates for deployments and roll outs as they are subject to change.  Once the process begins our development team will flag them as 'In Progress'.  There are many HD channels coming up soon per the Dev Team notices though as you can see.

 

Thank you

Mike_VZ
Verizon Support


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms of Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Silver Contributor I
film11
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎08-06-2009
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?

I'd assume that TCM-HD would be added whenever the channel actually starts showing movies in HD (which, so far, they haven't).

Copper Contributor
LTrotter
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-05-2011
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?

Ahh, I see. Well, if they're not broadcasting in HD, there's obviously no reason to add it to FiOS, then.There's also no reason for an HD version to exist. They should have gotten all that in order before they went live. *sigh* Sometimes I wonder about the people working there...

Contributor
hwass11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
Device: PC, TV
Plan: Triple play
Location: Brooklyn, NY
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?

I was getting TCM inHD on/Cablevision

Silver Contributor I
film11
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎08-06-2009
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?


hwass11 wrote:

I was getting TCM inHD on/Cablevision


No, you were getting a channel called TCM-HD on Cablevision.  But you weren't seeing any movies in HD on that channel.  Not sure why some don't seem to be aware...TCM-HD is not showing ANY High-Def movie content.  It is an HD channel in name only.  Heck, check out the TCM website.  There isn't even a mention of TCM-HD.  There is a reason for that!

Contributor
bebopbarney1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: TCM HD update?

Wrong.  TCM is broadcasting in HD which dramatically improves the quality of the films, expecially the old ones. 

Contributor
alski
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?

Hi All,

 

Ok so reading the last update here, TCM is broadcasting HD??. So why isn't Verizon on board?

Comcast is supplying it.

Silver Contributor II
Bobbo527
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Location: King of Prussia, PA
0 Kudos

Re: TCM HD update?


LTrotter wrote:

Howdy! Just a question, if I may: Does anyone have any word on when Turner Classic Movies HD will be added to the Verizon FiOS lineup? The addition of TCM HD was accepted last year and added to the channel queue (as stated here: http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Share-Your-Ideas-with-Verizon/Turner-Classic-Movies-HD/idi-p/236499). I was wondering if we could get some idea as to when we may get the channel or at least what progress has been made. Thanks!


Well at the rate Verizon is adding new HD channels, your Grandkids may be lucky  to see it in their lifetime.

Contributor
nycrobbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-19-2012

Re: TCM HD update?

Time Warner offers TCM HD.. Why not Verizon FIOS?  I am upset about that and considering switch back to TWC. 

 

Shop FiOS

  • FiOS Internet
  • FiOS TV
  • FiOS Digital Voice
  • FiOS Deals

Account & Services

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools