Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
mudman58
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
Device: Tv
Plan: internet
Location: Justin, Texas
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Adding Memory to the DVR

Is is possible to attach an external hard drive or add an internal memory card for more storage? I can only store 20 hours of HD programming. I was able to store 60 hours on my Dishnetwork DVR.
Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

 


mudman58 wrote:
Is is possible to attach an external hard drive or add an internal memory card for more storage? I can only store 20 hours of HD programming. I was able to store 60 hours on my Dishnetwork DVR.

No, you cannot add storage to the FiOS' Motorola DVR.  In fact, no Motorola DVR anywhere supports capacity expansion.

 

For now, you've got to buy a TivoHD (up to 300HD hours), Moxi, or  CableCard PC if you greater storage capacity.

 

Verizon is expected to offer a new FiOS DVR with double the existing capacity (i.e. 40 HD hours) early in 2010.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor
mudman58
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
Device: Tv
Plan: internet
Location: Justin, Texas
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

Thanks, KenAF most helpful!
Platinum Contributor I
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,780
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

I've always wondered, and yes I know this may void warranty's - but I can totally see the HD in the motorola box itself.   Has ANYONE tried to pop one of these suckers up and slave that HD to anything?  or slave anything to the HD inside the moto dvr?

 

Be a fun mad scientist experiment don't ya think?   wish I had a spare I could try it on, I'd hate to make that service call to VZ if I broke mine, and had to try to get them to replace it after I did something like that,.  

Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

[ Edited ]

Hubrisnxs wrote:

I've always wondered, and yes I know this may void warranty's - but I can totally see the HD in the motorola box itself.   Has ANYONE tried to pop one of these suckers up and slave that HD to anything?  or slave anything to the HD inside the moto dvr?


Yes.   Motorola "hard codes" the firmware on every DVR to use the maximum capacity of the original SKU.  No matter what drive you install, the firmware still limits the DVR to 160GB usable.


Motorola does this primarily to discourage customers from opening the DVR, but it also forces cable companies to buy new DVRs (at full price) when they want to increase capacity.

Message Edited by KenAF on 08-18-2009 08:05 PM
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor
fioscustomer123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

*sigh*.. 2010? Jeez, guess that'll be AFTER football season is over. I'm so sick of the pathetic hdd in this dvr (and the buggy firmware). Any word whether verizon is going to bend over its customers with the larger sized hdd on the newer dvr, or will it be the same price (ya, wishful thinking, I know). Sorry for the whining. I'm just so sick to death of the tiny hdd for the last several years, and paying $16+taxes for another piddly 160GB is hardly worth it.

 

They've raised their prices for this dvr (and their service) over the years, and they're still offering the same terrible unit. How they could create such a great infrastructure/service and then cheap out on arguably the most/one of the most important parts of the experience is beyond me. Their CS is nothing to write home about either.. Just a case of stellar management.

 

-A disappointed verizon customer.

Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR


fioscustomer123 wrote:

*sigh*.. 2010? Jeez, guess that'll be AFTER football season is over. I'm so sick of the pathetic hdd in this dvr (and the buggy firmware). Any word whether verizon is going to bend over its customers with the larger sized hdd on the newer dvr, or will it be the same price (ya, wishful thinking, I know). Sorry for the whining. I'm just so sick to death of the tiny hdd for the last several years, and paying $16+taxes for another piddly 160GB is hardly worth it.


Verizon customers have always had the option to purchase their own CableCard DVR with added capacity.  Many have had a DVR for FiOS with 1TB (150+ HD hours) since mid-2006.

 

I've had a 1TB DVR on FiOS since late 2007.  It cost me $350 upfront to buy the DVR, plus roughly $180 total per year for the DVR service and CableCard fees.  Third-party CableCard DVRs don't support FiOS VOD, but I was more than willing to give that up for more than 6x the capacity and reliable/accurate guide data.

 

 


fioscustomer123 wrote:

They've raised their prices for this dvr (and their service) over the years, and they're still offering the same terrible unit. How they could create such a great infrastructure/service and then cheap out on arguably the most/one of the most important parts of the experience is beyond me. Their CS is nothing to write home about either.. Just a case of stellar management.

 


Verizon's DVR fee is competitive with other cable operators.  No cable operator offered a Motorola or Cisco DVR with greater capacity until this summer (Comcast just rolled out 250GB and 320GB DVRs in select markets).   You think that's a coincidence?  It's not.  Motorola and Cisco did not offer higher capacity DVRs at prices acceptable to most operators.

 

Verizon selected Cisco for its new DVRs, and software for the Motorola DVRs is not compatible with the Cisco platform.  Hence, Verizon had to completely re-write their software to make it run on Cisco equipment.   That's been a project at Verizon for many months now.

 

In addition to increased capacity (at least 2x), the Cisco DVRs should feature significantly faster processors to support an improved 16:9 UI.  There should be no cost to upgrade, although the new DVRs could be in limited supply through the early part of 2010. 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor
fioscustomer123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

Thanks Ken, great to hear. There is some hope afterall..

 

Just curious.. I'm assuming these new STB's will be recording mpeg2, correct (the transmission would need to be switched to mpeg4, not just the stb be mpeg4 capable, right?)? Thanks again for the info.. nice to know there's some hope in the future. Probably not worth getting a TIVO at this point if a new stb is around the corner.. I will be keeping an eye out for them.

Contributor
lhoopie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

Having just come from Dish Network and being a former Time Warner Cable customer I can tell you that the functionality of the TWC and FIOS DVR is great but their capacity is FAR behind what Dish has. Dish isn't competitively priced for my needs and I am in a co-op and Don't want to deal with installing a Dish there- though my DVR with Dish wasn't in HD. I'm considering a TIVO and if I go that route I won't be back for the "newly expanded" FiOS DVR- 40 hours is still not adequate. An external Hard drive would have been ideal for me. This will take some mulling over...

Contributor
ReedLB
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
0 Kudos

Re: Adding Memory to the DVR

Any word on when either the new DVRs or new firmware for external expansion will be available? I'm really hoping before the Olympics in February, otherwise I may have to cancel my home media DVR and get a TiVo. Thanks.

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411