Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
NYYCavo24
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
0 Kudos

Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?

I'd like to access recorded programs on my Verizon cable box/DVR (Motorola 7216) but do so while the unit is not connected to cable service (i.e. FiOS). The reason I want to do this is because we have many hours of recorded shows which would be nice to access while we're at our vacation house, which has no cable service, just a TV.
 
This weekend I brought the DVR box, power cord, remote and HDMI cable, hooked it up and it didn't work. The unit can't seem to get out of start-up mode, presumably its looking for a connection?
 
The message says "Verizon FiOS TV Starting Up...One Moment Please". I've left it for at least an hour and it doesn't change. I also pushed nearly all the buttons on the remote and the box itself hoping to advance it out of start-up but to no avail.

Anyone have advice? Is this possible?  I need to know BEFORE Wednesday! Thanks in advance.
Bronze Contributor II
BrianC
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎08-22-2009
Device: QIP 7216
Location: Tampa, FL
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?

I was able to access my DVR and watch recording shows when landscapers cut my cable line and I was without TV for more than a day.  I had no connection whatsoever to cable during the time.  But I also didn't unplug my DVR, thus requiring it to boot up which I believe requires a connection to FiOS in order for it to do so.  I also have the 7216.

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?

A catch-22 here... you don't need the cable to be attached to watch a recording, but you need to be connected i. order to boot up the box. So, the landscaper sceraroio where the box didn't need rebooted would work, but unplugging and moving it would not.
Gold Contributor III
Keyboards
Posts: 2,298
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Plan: Extreme HD DV /50/25
Location: SE Pennsylvania
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?


lasagna wrote:
A catch-22 here... you don't need the cable to be attached to watch a recording, but you need to be connected i. order to boot up the box. So, the landscaper sceraroio where the box didn't need rebooted would work, but unplugging and moving it would not.

Unless you have a UPS that can keep it powered all the way to your vacation location (not really serious about that but in theory it could work).

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Silver Contributor II
Bobbo527
Posts: 612
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Location: King of Prussia, PA
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?

Interesting, I was thinking about the same thing. Why don't you try a test, disconnect the coaxial cable from the wall to the box, re-boot the box and then see if you can watch them. I am going to try it as well.
Gold Contributor III
Keyboards
Posts: 2,298
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Plan: Extreme HD DV /50/25
Location: SE Pennsylvania
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?


Bobbo527 wrote:
Interesting, I was thinking about the same thing. Why don't you try a test, disconnect the coaxial cable from the wall to the box, re-boot the box and then see if you can watch them. I am going to try it as well.

I can guarantee that if there is no network connection the box will be a brick.  Requires connection to network for authorization before it will operate.  You're welcome to waste your time however.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA
0 Kudos

Re: Can you use your HD DVR without being connected to the service?

I'm with keyboards on this one ... but there's never anything wrong with experimenting (how else do you learn anything?), so have at it, but don't be surprised when it doesn't work.

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411