Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
thisjustin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Connect fios cable to pc.

How do i connect fios cable to my pc and use the signal with Windows Media center. I have connected the fios cable directly to the back of my pc. (RF in) When I try to set up tv in Windows Media center it cannot find the tv signal. Is there another piece of hardware I need to use? I am also using an hp (external) tuner. Channels will change but no picture, just static screen.

Platinum Contributor I
Hubrisnxs
Posts: 5,580
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Connect fios cable to pc.

[ Edited ]

thisjustin wrote:

How do i connect fios cable to my pc and use the signal with Windows Media center. I have connected the fios cable directly to the back of my pc. (RF in) When I try to set up tv in Windows Media center it cannot find the tv signal. Is there another piece of hardware I need to use? I am also using an hp (external) tuner. Channels will change but no picture, just static screen.


the only way for you to plug a coax cable directly in is if you have a tv tuner card that has QAM 256 support.   

 

a lot of cable cards don't,  you may need to plug a STB in the middle of it for it to work

 

so wall coax to stb,  stb coax to your PC.  

 

 

Bronze Contributor II
ekem015
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Location: MA

Re: Connect fios cable to pc.

It's also important to note that even if your tuner is QAM-capable (which it doesn't sound like it is), all you would be able to receive is the channels in Clear QAM, which are only the locals (1-49, 460-549). In order to receive every QAM channel on FiOS, you would need a CableCARD-ready PC tuner and a rented CableCARD from Verizon.

Contributor
thisjustin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Connect fios cable to pc.

Thanks! I understand completely. My Hp external tv tuner is old. Can I install a newer external tuner card or an internal one to also solve the problem?

Bronze Contributor II
ekem015
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Location: MA
0 Kudos

Re: Connect fios cable to pc.

See my post above. If you are OK with just getting local channels (1-49, 460-549), then you can buy an internal or external QAM tuner. But if you want to have all channels, then you will need to get a tuner that is CableCARD-compliant, and also rent a $3.99/month CableCARD from Verizon. That sort of tuner is also not as widely available, keep in mind.

 

Or, like was said in an earlier post, you can just use a set-top box as an intermediary, and just get the video feed from the STB on your computer. But that will mean you will have to change channels on the STB unless you are using a more complicated IR blaster setup.

 

In the end, the less complicated and least expensive option is probably just to watch it on your TV with a rented set-top box.

Contributor
thisjustin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Connect fios cable to pc.

I understand.  What I wanted to do was have another place to record tv. Sometimes I can't record all that I want to record on the stb. Thanks again for the help. Thanks to you I know what I need to do.

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools