Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
oldbird
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2009
Location: Dayton, MD
0 Kudos

Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

I want to connect two HD TVs to a single FIOS HD Set Top Box (STB) that has one HDMI output.  The two TVs will be back to back across a wall between our family room and kitchen so cable distances for the **bleep**hest TV will be ~15'.  I realize both TVs wouldl have to "watch" the same channel selected on the STB.  Can I just use a passive HDMI "splitter" like this one: http://www.cablesunlimited.com/products/Prod_Individual3.aspx?groupcode=I3587 ? Would an active splitter like this: http://www.cablesunlimited.com/products/Prod_Individual3.aspx?groupcode=I3605 offer any advantage for my situation?  Any help will be appreciated.
Contributor
Podunk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

Wouldn't recommend HDMI, I would go with componont cabling.
Contributor
oldbird
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2009
Location: Dayton, MD
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

Thanks for the response.  I thought HDMI gave the best HD picture to the TV.  Why go with component video instead?
Gold Contributor III
Keyboards
Posts: 2,303
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Plan: Extreme HD DV /50/25
Location: SE Pennsylvania
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

I would be wary of the passive splitter as it doesn't list HDCP compliance.  This may cause the handshake between the STB and TV to fail if 2 sets try to respond to the handshake request.  The active splitter lists compliance but is quite expensive at $159.

 

As for the use of component cables (red / blue / green RCA jacks), that will still give full HD resolution but require a separate audio connection.  All the outputs on the HD STBs are active simultaneously so no additional hardware besides the cables would be required.  Many people feel there is little or no difference between HDMI and component. It would be cheaper to at least try component cables first as they can be had fairly inexpensively from monoprice.com (have used their HDMI and component cables with excellent results).

 

The ultimate choice depends on what you, the viewer, feel is best.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor
oldbird
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2009
Location: Dayton, MD
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

Thanks for the advice about the passive splitter and the need for HDCP compliance.  

 

I am leaning on going the HDMI w/ active splitter route.  I think running the single HDMI cable will be a bit easier and cleaner than the set of component video and audio cables for my installation. and it looks like there are active splitters out there in the $50 - $80 range.

 

Any final advice on critical specs on the active splitter needed to work with my FIOS HD STB and new HD TVs?

Contributor
kels
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Location: Kirkland, WA.
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

I'm with you about wanting to go with all HDMI but I've heard mixed resonses as to whether it's even noticeable.  But I wonder if you are wanting 1080p resolution (like I do since I paid for it on my new TV) if THEN you see the degradation?

 

Any thoughts on that tech support?

Nickel Contributor
Reaper
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

Monoprice has good, inexpensive equipment. I don't use an HDMI splitter but I do use one of their HDMI switches. Here's their HDMI splitters: http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10113
Gold Contributor III
Keyboards
Posts: 2,303
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Plan: Extreme HD DV /50/25
Location: SE Pennsylvania
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box


kels wrote:

...  But I wonder if you are wanting 1080p resolution (like I do since I paid for it on my new TV) if THEN you see the degradation?

 

Any thoughts on that tech support?


The maximum current resolution out of the Verizon STB is 1080i so the question posed by the OP doesn't concern 1080p.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor
rayman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

the new QIP7216 HD DVR and QIP7100 HD boxes will support both 1080i/p if the program is being broadcast in 1080p.
Contributor
kels
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Location: Kirkland, WA.
0 Kudos

Re: Connecting 2 TVs to HDMI port on FIOS HD cable box

Will Verizon give an upgrade to the new 1080p boxes?

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411