Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  
  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
jeepstrat
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
0 Kudos

FIOS TV PIP

I am new to FIOS, and noticed that the PIP button on my remote does nothing with my DVR box. I am a former Comcast customer, and the motorola box from Comcast had dual tuners (like all DVR's, so they can record two stations at once) and the PIP worked great. Is there a trick to getting this feature to work with FIOS? Also, if you setup a DVR recording, can the box be in standby and still record from the schedule? Thanks in advance. 
Platinum Contributor I
prisaz
Posts: 6,813
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS TV PIP

[ Edited ]

jeepstrat wrote:
I am new to FIOS, and noticed that the PIP button on my remote does nothing with my DVR box. I am a former Comcast customer, and the motorola box from Comcast had dual tuners (like all DVR's, so they can record two stations at once) and the PIP worked great. Is there a trick to getting this feature to work with FIOS? Also, if you setup a DVR recording, can the box be in standby and still record from the schedule? Thanks in advance. 

 

FIOS Does not support this feature, and I believe even though it may be the Motorola DVR, the software is different. The FIOS STB must support the IP features Such as VOD, Channel Guide, Widgets, Remote DVR, Multi Room DVR, Home Media to name a few. So the resources have been used.

 

As far as recording scheduled programs in stand-by yes. When you turn off the box it is not really powered down, and does record programs.

Message Edited by prisaz on 05-07-2009 08:21 PM
Bronze Contributor II
jmcohen23
Posts: 277
Registered: ‎01-30-2009
Device: Samsung Reality
Location: maryland
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS TV PIP

the only way I got PIP to work for me is by having another input source into the tv.  For example, my tv has a built-in HD tuner, so I hooked up my outdoor antenna to it, so that now I can watch two programs at once, one on FIOS and the other over-the-air.
You've got to be very careful if you don't know where you're going, because you might not get there. --Yogi Berra
Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC

Re: FIOS TV PIP


jeepstrat wrote:
I am new to FIOS, and noticed that the PIP button on my remote does nothing with my DVR box. I am a former Comcast customer, and the motorola box from Comcast had dual tuners (like all DVR's, so they can record two stations at once) and the PIP worked great. Is there a trick to getting this feature to work with FIOS? Also, if you setup a DVR recording, can the box be in standby and still record from the schedule? Thanks in advance. 

You must be thinking of a Scientific Atlanta box.  No Motorola boxes support PIP.

 

To use PIP with FiOS, you must have a separate run of coax to your TV and your TV must have a built-in QAM tuner.  That will allow you to do PIP with the local channels.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Nickel Contributor
spacedebrisR
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎04-19-2009
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS TV PIP

[ Edited ]

the problem is that while the verizon stb does have dual tuners, it only has one "buffer" This is also the reason you cant switch tuners to be able to watch two shows without having to record them. one tuner is tuned to the buffer for live programming, allowing you to pause the live tv. the other tuner is dormant unless recording, and then the recording goes directly to the hard drive. Therefore it doesnt have a second video output signal

 

Without the dual buffers, the PIP will not work.

 

Message Edited by spacedebris on 05-11-2009 03:25 PM
Silver Contributor IV
matcarl
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS TV PIP

I think not spacedebris. It most certainly does buffer two channels at once. You can pause both and switch back and forth between the two.
 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411