Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  
  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Copper Contributor
skierrob2
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
0 Kudos

FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange

Due to HDMI port problems, I need to exchange my Tivo HD.  When I get the new Tivo and place my cablecard into it (M Card), I assume nothing will work until Verizon pairs the cable card with the new Tivo.

 

Can I do this on the phone with Verizon tech support?  If so, what do I ask them to do since a lot of tech support staff don't seem to know much about cable cards. 

 

Or will this require yet another week of waiting with no TV in the living room while I wait for Verizon to come out with a truck to read off numbers to someone?

 

Thanks!

 

Silver Contributor IV
TimSykes
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Device: Google G1
Plan: 20/5
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange

Verizon will not send out cable cards, and you will need a truck roll. But for now you can always use component cables.
Copper Contributor
skierrob2
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange

I already have the cablecard in the old Tivo.  I don't need a new cablecard.  I want to move the cablecard from the old (bad) Tivo to the new Tivo that is being shipped to me.

 

Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange


skierrob2 wrote:

When I get the new Tivo and place my cablecard into it (M Card), I assume nothing will work until Verizon pairs the cable card with the new Tivo.

 

Can I do this on the phone with Verizon tech support?  If so, what do I ask them to do since a lot of tech support staff don't seem to know much about cable cards

 


Good news!  There is nothing you need to do.


Verizon is one of the few providers that does not pair their CableCards, so you can simply insert the card into the new TiVo and all your channels will work fine.  There is no need to call Verizon and there is no need for a service appointment.

 

Note it may take 60-120 seconds for the TiVo to recognize the CableCard and authorize your channels.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Nickel Contributor
kevinb
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange


KenAF wrote:

skierrob2 wrote:

When I get the new Tivo and place my cablecard into it (M Card), I assume nothing will work until Verizon pairs the cable card with the new Tivo.

 

Can I do this on the phone with Verizon tech support?  If so, what do I ask them to do since a lot of tech support staff don't seem to know much about cable cards

 


Good news!  There is nothing you need to do.


Verizon is one of the few providers that does not pair their CableCards, so you can simply insert the card into the new TiVo and all your channels will work fine.  There is no need to call Verizon and there is no need for a service appointment.

 

Note it may take 60-120 seconds for the TiVo to recognize the CableCard and authorize your channels.


 

Are you sure on that? Host ID is provided by the STB and required when activating a CableCard. This Host ID will change when the card is moved.. Does that not matter?

Silver Contributor II
KenAF
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Device: Blackberry 9630
Location: Washington, DC
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange


kevinb wrote:

KenAF wrote:

skierrob2 wrote:

When I get the new Tivo and place my cablecard into it (M Card), I assume nothing will work until Verizon pairs the cable card with the new Tivo.

 

Can I do this on the phone with Verizon tech support?  If so, what do I ask them to do since a lot of tech support staff don't seem to know much about cable cards

 


Good news!  There is nothing you need to do.


Verizon is one of the few providers that does not pair their CableCards, so you can simply insert the card into the new TiVo and all your channels will work fine.  There is no need to call Verizon and there is no need for a service appointment.

 

Note it may take 60-120 seconds for the TiVo to recognize the CableCard and authorize your channels.


 

Are you sure on that? Host ID is provided by the STB and required when activating a CableCard. This Host ID will change when the card is moved.. Does that not matter?


Yes, I am certain.  It does not matter.

 

Verizon may or may not take down pairing information during the installation, but they do not use it anywhere.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor
NewUserNY03
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Location: NEW YORK
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange

Hi, I just signed up for Fios Internet and TV and have a TIVO HD.  Since you seem to have one and have everything working, can you tell me more about the cablecard.  It just took me forever to speak to someone from Verizon who was able to change my order from getting and HD Settop box to a cablecard.  Now I just want to make sure I get the correct cablecard for my HD Tivo.  When you got yours, did you have to specify that it be an M Card??  Did you have problems with Verizon installing everything correctly with your Tivo.

 

Thanks for the help!

Copper Contributor
skierrob2
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
0 Kudos

Re: FIOS/ Tivo HD Exchange

When the tech showed up (a contractor), he only had one S card with him even though I ordered two cablecards (and he said he had that card in his truck for months).  He didn't know the difference between S cards and M cards.  I explained the difference, and he called another person (who was actually from Verizon) and asked if that person had any M cards.  That person was at my door about 20 minutes later with an M card. 

 

Now here's where it gets funny.  My installer also had an appointment next door, and had gone over there to start doing some work while we waited.  When the second person (actual Verizon employee) showed up with the M card, he just gave it to me and asked if I needed any help and I said nah we can handle the rest on our own.  I then called the original contractor, who told me to just put it in myself and to then tell him the numbers that show up on the screen and that he would then activate the card for me.

 

I did and had service on my Tivo about 10 minutes later!  I did ask him for a low pass filter and attenuators.  He gave me the low pass filter, had no attenuators, but did have an 8 way splitter that he gave me to cool the signal.

 

I have NO clue why they can't just mail the cards to us when we want them.  Doing a truck roll seems like a real waste of time given that I'm the one that actually installed the card and rattled off the numbers on the screen.  :smileywink:

 

If it matters, btw, I am in Southern California.

 

 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411