Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
andchang74
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2013
0 Kudos

How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?

Copper Contributor
Comet2011L4
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-15-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

[ Edited ]

Hello andchang74,

 

Make sure all wires are securely attached to the set top box. Perhaps your coax cable is loose or damaged. Try replacing it with a known good coax cable.

 

Are there any other noticeable symptons? (i.e. ghosting, pixel images, image lags)

 

Can you try replacing the set top box with a known good set top box?
 (That's if you have two)

 

I think Verizon might be able to send you a working one without charge if you return the damaged one back.

Silver Contributor III
PJL
Posts: 1,995
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Location: Long Beach, California
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?


andchang74 wrote:

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?


It's difficult to answer your question without some basic information like what symptoms are happening, are you restaring the STB or is it restarting itself, etc. 

Contributor
TheMrsandMe
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Add me to that list of constant resetting of STB

Spoiler
 
Silver Contributor V
TNS_2
Posts: 1,844
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

At least five different problems that can cause this.

 

Bad wiring,

 

Bad power.

 

Bad router.

 

Bad ONT

 

Bad STB.

 

You CAN probably only work to fix the first two on your own.

Contributor
acharp
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

mine does this several TIMES a DAY! Unfortunately during recording at times. grrrr!

 No loose wires.

Contributor
stilholm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

I have a similar problem. If I leave my dvr on one channel for too long, I eventually get a black screen. I can get the picture back by simply changing channels. The more frustrating problem is that I can't watch any recorded programs. The dvr says the program is playing, but it stays on the current channel. During this error, the stb won't record any programs. The only way to fix it is to reset the stb. Once reset it works fine for a while, but the problem eventually comes back. Any one have a permanent fix other than having the dvr replaced?
Contributor
PapaDave
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

My DVR froze up and Verizon sent another box. This new DVR is resetting automatically every couple of minutes. It started out resetting a few times a day, but now just repeatedly resets. Another new box on its way. Any possibility it's not the box?
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools