Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Copper Contributor
jackiel
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

STB: QIP7232

Software Release 1.9

Build 10.95

 

Just got FIOS triple play installed yesterday. I am using STB to control TV volume (had to use remote code 9-5-5 to make that work - STB software settings alone did not work). I need to use the STB for volume because my older TV - SD Mitsubishi - cannot be controled via remote - its remote sensor no longer works. Initailly I had a graphic volume bar on screen - upper right quadrant - when changing Volume or using Mute from the remote - the graphic bar would disappear after about 10 seconds. After exploring and changing some of the STB settings, I noticed that the volume bar no longer displays at all. I'd like it back - but cannot figure out how to get it back. The graphic feedback helps me know that the STB received the command from the remote. The volume function from the remote is working - it is the graphic I am missing.

 

Does anyone know what STB setting might affect this? Or, is it possible to go back to "default" settings on the STB?

 

I tried calling Verizon - but they were not helpful - as long as volume control was working, they did not want to help me get the graphic back.

 

Anyone else encounter this? Thanks in advance...

 

 

Silver Contributor IV
CRobGauth
Posts: 1,211
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

Go to Menu-Settings-Audio-Volume COntro.

Make sure it is set to Variable instead of fixed.

Copper Contributor
jackiel
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

Thanks for your reply, but Volume Control was already set to Variable. And sorry for the delay in responding - I was trying to figure out if I could repeat (and even fix) the issue - now I have - tho there may be more than one way to do this:

 

To produce the problem on my setup:

1. While watching TV with no STB graphics on screen - check to see volume control graphic is there by hitting volume button on remote - wait until the graphic goes away.

2. On Remote, hit Favorites button (already set to "Toggle Flip by Favorites") - Info graphic (bottom 1/3 of screen) comes up indicating that I am in "Mode:Favorites 1".

3. On Remote, hit Guide Button

4. On Remote hit Exit Button

 

Volume / Mute graphic no longer appears when the buttons are pressed on the remote, tho the volume / mute functions do work. I can power off the STB - and still the volume / mute graphics are gone.

 

To fix:

1. On Remote, hit "On Demand" Button. (Wait for "loading" to finish)

2. On Remote, hit Exit.

 

Now the volume / mute graphic is visible again!

 

Hunh???

Is this a bug?

 

 

Note: remote is VZ P265v2 RC

 

Copper Contributor
jackiel
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

a few more details:

Seems to be the Favorites button that causes the problem (disappearing volume graphic) - you can skip my step 3 - Guide, and still produce the problem. The problem occurs when the Favorites button is set to"Toggle Flip by Favorites", but not when the Favorites button is set to "Show Favorite Listings".

 

I have no idea why choosing the "On Demand" button fixes the issue.

Copper Contributor
jackiel
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

Just to close this thread - this bug is fixed in STB software release 1.9.1

I think this software is also known as Interactive Media Guide (IMG) 1.9.1

My box received the updated software automatically several weeks ago.

Contributor
Normie1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Lost volume and mute screen graphic after various STB settings changes - how to get it back?

Thanks I will try this!!

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411