Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
Neneandveve
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
0 Kudos

My DVR is not working

The picture freezes every few minutes, the screen goes black and the number to call appears. I press b to troubleshoot or call the number. The box is reset but in the meantime I lost a portion of the program. Then it freezes again within 10 minutes and I start all over again. I am frustrated and disappointed. I would like to watch TV without the drama. This is FiOS!!!

Silver Contributor I
GaryDoug
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: My DVR is not working

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,787
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA

Re: My DVR is not working

Actually this could be a bad connection or splitter problem ... had a very similar situation on my upstairs STB.  I disconnected everything (coax connections) and reconnected them and replaced a splitter and everything started working again.   That message screen is indicative of too low of a signal coming into the STB and would appear to affect certain channels (those running at higher frequencies) more than others (there is not correlation between a channel number and the frequencies -- higher numbers don't equate to higher frequencies and two adjacent channels can be on frequencies at complete opposite ends of the spectrum).  If the problem persist, someone here can tell you how to check the signal level for a particular channel and you can see if this is the case.

 

 

Platinum Contributor I
prisaz
Posts: 6,807
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: My DVR is not working

 


GaryDoug wrote:

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 


What I would do is buy a Tivo and order a cable card. Then take the OLD DVR to the Verizon store and get a receipt.:smileyvery-happy:

 

Contributor
tdavek
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
0 Kudos

Re: My DVR is not working

 


GaryDoug wrote:

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 


Have you actually done this?  AFAIK, the stores in TX, FL and CA don't do swaps.  You can return a box, but not swap for a new one.

 

Silver Contributor I
GaryDoug
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: My DVR is not working

Yes. I did a DVR swap in the Verizon store in the Gulfview Mall in New Port Richey, Florida. That was about 3 months ago and I called ahead to make sure they had one in stock. Of course, they might have just liked the sound of my voice or something ;-)

 

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools