Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
MarkR
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-08-2013
0 Kudos

P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

I have a variation on the common problem with getting the P265 to control the volume on my pioneer TV.

 

I go through the setup instructions:

- Press OK and 0 for 5 seconds

- enter 290

- Press channel up until it turns off my TV

- Test Volume +-, mute, input, EVERYTHING WORKS FINE

- Press OK to set the programming - red light blinks and goes out just like it is supposed to

 

BUT, once I push that final OK, the remote no longer controls the Volume.  IT still works for on/off, mute, input, but NOT for volume.  Somehowe volume was working before I pushed the final OK to finish the programming, but once I push OK the remote forgets how to control the volume (but still works of on/off, mute, etc).

 

Any ideas?

 

thanks,

 

m

 

Bronze Contributor III
lacticacidtrip
Posts: 369
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

Go here:

 

https://www22.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Service.aspx?ihaweb=WebRemoteSetup

 

  1. Choose your remote.
  2. Select "I want to setup my Verizon remote with my TV".
  3. Click Next.
  4. Find and Highlight your TV manufacturer.
  5. Click Next.
  6. (This page is the setup process you've just completed.) Click No.
  7. Follow the instructions on this page.

If this still does not do it, then you can try the Key Fix.

 

Key Fix


If your remote control is programmed for your TV, but the <VOL>, <Mute>, or the <A/V> keys do not work correctly, then you can try using the Key Fix feature to fix the buttons.


1. Press and hold the OK and * buttons simultaneously. • The Red LED will blink twice and then stay on.
2. Press and hold the key that does not work correctly. The remote control will try a new code every second.
3. Once the TV responds correctly, release the button.
4. Press OK to save the current settings and finish programming your remote control.

 

Hope this helps.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Contributor
lilunder2002
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

I'm having the same issue with a Samsung. The key fix doesn't work as it actually programs fine UNTIL "OK" is hit to save settings. VERY frustrated at this point.

 

Contributor
lilunder2002
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

Did you ever get it to work? Are you setting volu,e controls to "Fixed' or "variable' I've tried both same thing happens except the box controling the volume from the STB is "fixed" at max, the bar will decend down but the volume doesn't change until you hit zero then the sound goes off.

Bronze Contributor III
lacticacidtrip
Posts: 369
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

Hi lilunder2002,

 

I'm afraid I can't help you make the remote work as I don't have any more suggestions than the ones I listed above. MarkR has yet to log in since I posted my suggestions, so I don't know if he had more success.

 

As for the Fixed/Variable setting: FIXED prevents the STB pre-amp from being changed. VARIABLE allows the STB pre-amp levels to be changed. However, the STB volume only controls the analog audio outputs (coaxial cable or red/white audio outs). The digital outputs (digital audio coax, digital audio optical, HDMI) can be either on or off, but cannot be volume controlled by the STB.

 

So as far as I can tell, your options are:

 

  1. Revert back to analog connections (coax, composite, component).
  2. Continue using 2 remotes.
  3. Purchase the 4-device remote from Verizon and hope it has the right code for your TV.
  4. Purchase a universal remote that can be programmed for both Verizon FiOS and your TV.

Wish I had better news. Hope someone else can weigh in and offer more help. Best of luck.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Contributor
lilunder2002
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

Oh thank you for you're help, I guess I didn't state that I'm not using an HD TV so I'm infact using the RF (red,white,yellow) connections. I thought that was possibly the isuue and was going to try the coax next, however from your info it seems that since these are both analog connections that probably won't fix it either :smileysad: If I get it to work I'll definitely update! 

 

P.S - I was also wondering if it has anything to do with the TV set acting on AV1,AV2 etc....maybe I should rifle through the TV settings to check for a "cable" option..

 

Bronze Contributor III
lacticacidtrip
Posts: 369
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

I had assumed that you were using a digital connection because of your description. But if you are in fact using analog connections, then the volume control on the STB should work.

 

To set the STB to control the volume, do the following:

 

Menu > Settings > Audio > Volume Control > Variable > OK > Exit

 

  1. On the remote control press & hold the OK & 2 buttons, release together. (The LED will blink twice, then stay lit.)
  2. Press 9 - 5 - 5. (The LED will blink twice, then stay lit.)
  3. Press the STB button. (The LED will blink 3 times, then stay off.)

The volume and mute will now be controlled through the STB. Set the TV volume to a moderate level. Then use the remote control normally to control the volume through the STB.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Contributor
markjr
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
0 Kudos

Re: P265 Remote won't control volume on Pioneer TV AFTER I press the final OK to lock in programming

Sorry, I've been out of town for a while.

 

I tried lacticacidtrip's suggestions, but ran into an immediate problem - when I push TV and Fios TVbuttons together, the remote does NOT flash twice.  I tried it with both the TV button and the STB button since the instructions said use the TV button but it looked like the right button was highlighted and that is STB on my control. Nothing.

 

Similarly, when I tried thekey program approach pushing OK and * button - nothing, no blinking or staying on.

 

So, I've asked verizon to send me another remote.  I'll ley you know if that works :smileysad:

 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411