Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
Bob_W
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2010
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Where did my STB IP address go?

I reset my Actiontec router (red button for 10 sec) and my Set Top Box IP address no longer appears in either the Main or My Network pages of the router web app.  The STB, however, seems to be working just fine.  How do I get the STB IP listed again?

Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,854
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Where did my STB IP address go?

[ Edited ]

The simple answer is, wait, eventually it should appear. However, you can generally make it appear immediately if you re-boot the STB, either by pulling the power plug for 10 seconds or so, or using the re-boot function in the In-Home Agent function under Customer Support in the Menu (the preferred way to re-boot). Once you do that, it may also be necessary to re-boot the router (not reset, just re-boot using the re-boot function in the router's menu), but then again maybe not, you will just have to see.

 

The STB may appear to be working correctly, but without an IP address it will not be able to get updated Guide data, nor will VOD or any of the Widgets work.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

 

 

Gold Contributor I
spacedebris
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Where did my STB IP address go?

Or you could simply hit the "widgets" button. The reason the STB IP does not list is that the STB has not needed a connection yet so it hasnt "talked" to the router yet. By hitting the widgets button, the STB will establish a network connection and obtain an IP again.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,854
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Where did my STB IP address go?

 


spacedebris wrote:

Or you could simply hit the "widgets" button. The reason the STB IP does not list is that the STB has not needed a connection yet so it hasnt "talked" to the router yet. By hitting the widgets button, the STB will establish a network connection and obtain an IP again.


 

Didn't think about using the Widgets to make it immediately contact the router, thanks, I guess I didn't know because 1) I never use the Widgets, I find them totally useless, and 2) it has been an awfully long time since any of my STBs have lost their IP address. Guess I will have to try that when it does happen.

 

Thanks again.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

Contributor
Bob_W
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Where did my STB IP address go?

Thank you.  By the time I read your message (a couple of hours after I posted my question) the router found the STB.  So wait was the solution.  I'm going to have to try that technique more often <g>.

Contributor
mikie51
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Where did my STB IP address go?

My STB's loose their IP addresses several times a week.  As the original message stated, everything is running just fine but I hvae no program guides.  Its getting extremely frustrating ... 

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools