cannot get DLNA to work on my TV
majorben

Hi,

Newbie here to the forums.  I have searched this topic, and tried to follow the suggestions as best that I can, but I am still unable to get DLNA on my TV to connect to my server.  I have the Actiontec MI424WRI router and a Sharp Aquos TV LC-46LE830U.  The TV is DLNA compatible, there is a built in app for it, and I know that it is connected to the internet as I can see the Mac Address listed in the router.  I think that I have done everything that I could by following the posts of others in the forum to view photos from my laptop (my server) that is running Windows 7 on my TV, but I still can't get it to work.  Can somebody please help me by posting step by step instructions to make sure that I covered every base?  By the way, I do not want to purchase the Belkin Miracast Video Adapter.

As a side note, I've had Fios for a few years now, and I remember when the Media Manager App used to have a feature that would allow me to flick photos from my iphone to display on my TV, but it looks like Verizon has done away with that feature in the app.  Does anybody know if that can be done another way?

Thank you in advance for the help.

0 Likes
Re: cannot get DLNA to work on my TV
DarkKnight2
Enthusiast - Level 1

Respectfully, this has nothing to do with Verizon, and is a user error issue. 

DLNA is a protocol; which is to say it's not an 'app' that you run. It's a set of standardized underlying technologies that are in theory supposed to allow you to play audio/video from any compatible 'server' such as a phone, tablet, or laptop to any compatible 'player' such as a TV, bluray player, or STB. Note that devices like tablets, phones, & PCs can be both server & client depending on how you are using them.