HD Set Box and Vizio TV
rkrk2007

I have a new Vizio HD TV and I have a new HD set top box.  The TV is connected to the box with an HDMI cable.  When I turn on the TV I get a Non-support message.  Then in about 5-10 minutes the screen goes blank and starts to pulse with a picture.  It flickers on and off for awhile and then if I am lucky it settles on a signal and I get audio and video.  I have been coping with this for a couple months.  I did report the problem on telephone and was sent a new set top box.  It does the same thing.  Today it will not settle at all just flicks on and off and you get blimps in both audio and video.  THIS IS VERY ANNOYING.  

What should I do??  What I really would like is a technician to come to the house and fix this problem.  All the other TVs work including the HD DVR box in the living.  The TV works fine with the DVD player so the TV is working. It appears to be an incompatibility between the box and the TV.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: HD Set Box and Vizio TV
spacedebris
Master - Level 2

If Hubrisnxs's suggestion doesnt help, there are a couple other things you can try. It sounds like you have the HDMI handshake error that has affected many people the last few years.

The first thing to do is go to the Vizio web site and see if there is a firmware update for your TV. Hopefully Vizio has addressed the problem and has a firmware upgrade for you. If so, update the firmware and hopefully that will take care of it.