Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
Zeus212
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2012
0 Kudos

Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

I just got my new service installed yesterday and I realized the HD set top boxes does not display time or channel. Is this normal, if it is that sucks! 

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
tns
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

The latest model Motorola down not have a display.  The earlier Motorola models STB ,DVRs, and CISCO models all display time.

Gold Contributor VII
Smith6612
Posts: 5,993
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

As pointed out above, if you have a newer Motorola Set top Box (the Black, small units or otherwise) they do not give the time. Most people, despite the missing clock would rather have the newer boxes with the new IMG updates over those old Motorola units anyways.

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA

Re: Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

[ Edited ]

I agree with Smith6612 ... I'd take a smaller form factor over having the channel/time display any day -- it shows up on the screen when you're changing channels and you can always hit the info button if you want to see it for some other reason.   I've always found the glowing bright yellow/white/orange digits to be a distraction when watching a movie in a darkened room.

 

As for the time ... well, I have one of those old-school clock thingy's hanging on the wall for that.  :smileywink:

 

YMMV

Silver Contributor V
armond_in_nj
Posts: 1,417
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

Smithh6612 wrote: " ...if you have a newer Motorola Set top Box (the Black, small units or otherwise) they do not give the time. Most people, despite the missing clock would rather have the newer boxes with the new IMG updates over those old Motorola units ... "

 

I was under the impression that the "new IMG updates" were available on most of the older STBs (the QIP7232, for example) via a software update.  Is this not the case?

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
tns
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Set Top Box Does Not Display Time

I think he meant that supported all the new IMG features.  6xxx boxes don't.

 

Note the newer box was also meant to be greener and so it loses the display and uses less power. For some reason the newer DVR kept the display, although it uses less power than the prevous model. 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411