Can't connect wireless blu ray player
RetiredPro
Enthusiast - Level 3

I've been using verizon DSL for about 5 years now.  I have a Versalink 327W that was provided by Verizon.  I've been pretty happy with the service, experiencing only a few glitches that were easily fixed.  But I haven't been pushing it hard.  I have a couple of desktops both wired to the Versalink by ethernet.  The versalink provides internet access to the two computers, and file and printer sharing as well.

Now I have a problem.  I recently bought a Sony Blu Ray player  (model BDP-BX57) with built in wireless.  No matter what I do, wireless connection fails.  I've ruled out SSID and WEP key problems.  The Blu Ray sees the Versalink with its SSID, and can't connect even if I set the Versalink to open.  For what it's worth, if I plug the blu ray into the versalink with ethernet, that works, and I can access the internet.

That solution won't work for me in use.  I need wireless.

Reading various entries in this forum and other places, I see that some people need to update the firmware in their Versalink.  Do I need to do this?  Is it going to help?  Am I just going to have to upgrade my router/modem or my DSL service later on?

Also, looking at the steps needed to update the firmware, it looks error prone to me.  What's my fall back if things go wrong due to either my error or Verizon's?  I don't want to be without service for a long time while Verizon gets me a new router/modem.

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Can't connect wireless blu ray player
RetiredPro
Enthusiast - Level 3

This problem has been solved.

The solution turned out to be to upgrade the firmware inside the "Residential Gateway"  (aka router/modem)  provided by Verizon.  The gateway is a Westell 327W  of the A90 vintage.  The firmware it contained didn't work for wireless connections.