Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
scottpsu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
0 Kudos

HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

I am hoping someone can help me out here!  I am trying to get a Cisco Small Business unified communication device to connect through my DSL service.  I am using a SIP trunk registration through ViaTalk and can register on their server and make outgoing calls without issue.  I have yet to be able to receive incoming calls.  I spent 6+ hours on the phone with Cisco tech support and they tell me it is my router blocking the incoming traffic.  I set my modem/router up with a DMZ, have tried to forward all port, disabled SIP ALG and still nothing.  When I called ViaTalk to see if they noticed incoming calls on their SIP server they said that everything looked good except that the port that is used for the communication seems to be altered.  Does anyone know if this is something that Verizon may/may not be doing?  Outgoing calls are handled on port 5060, but the ViaTalk tech support said that the request was coming through on the incoming side on port 56739.  I am using a Netgear DGND3300 because the Westell 7500 is better used as a paper weight.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,411
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

#1 In the Netgear router go to Router Status.

 

#2 With another web browser window or tab, go to https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

 

#3 At that URL, under The text below might uniquely identify you on the Internet is an IP Address.

 

#4 That IP Address, without posting what it is, is in your Netgear router at that screen - that I told you to go to?

 

#5 In the Netgear router go to LAN IP Setup.

 

#6 What is the Starting and Ending IP Address?

 

#7 In the Netgear router go to UPnP.

 

#8 If you do not have at least two game consoles behind your router, turn off UPnP in the router.

 

By game console, a special type of computer with no keyboard or mouse (and it/they are usually connected to TV).

 

#9 https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/sbcs/uc500/hardware/quick/guide/UC540_Quick_Start.pdf&embedde...

 

This is the correct manaul/quick start guide for your Cisco Small Business unified communication device?

 

#10 I know this Cisco Small Business unified communication device, a phone line, and a power line are connected to the Netgear router.

 

#11 Is there any thing else connected to this Netgear router?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
scottpsu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

Thanks for trying to help me out and get this up and running.  In response...

 

1.  Yes, the external IP addresses match (from the Netgear router status window and from the Gibson Research website).

 

2.  The router is enabled as a DHCP server.  Starting address is 192.168.0.2 and ending address is 192.168.0.254.

 

3.  I only have a Wii in the house that has not been played (or registerd on the router via WiFi) for months.

 

4.  That is the correct quick start guide for the uc540.

 

5.  I have taken everything out of the loop, with respect to the Netgear.  I have the phone line into the modem/router, a single ethernet cable that connects to the WAN port of the Cisco uc540 and an ethernet cable that goes to my computer from one of the switch ports on the uc540.  I do have a second ethernet cable that is attached to the IP phone. 

 

6.  Just to be clear, I have reset the Cisco uc540 to its default configuration and only configured it for basic operation to minimize any other issues.  I don't have the internal voicemail server enabled, no call blast/hunt groups, no auto attendant, etc.  I am simply forwarding any/all calls directly to the one extension I have setup on the system.

 

7.  When I spoke with the ViaTalk support folks, they said all outgoing traffic and registration on the SIP server looked good, but any incoming traffic was not even hitting the Cisco.  This led me to changing the Netgear settings to act as a dumb modem only, which didn't work.  I even went out and purchased a basic DSL modem (Zoom brand) and tried to see if that worked, whcih it didn't.  Same issue...could register on the SIP server and make outgoing calls but all incoming were blocked. 

 

Is this something that Verizon is possibly blocking on the ISP side?

 

Scott

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,411
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

[ Edited ]

#1 Change the Starting IP Address, so it is 192.168.0.100

 

#2 On the Cisco device, set it's IP Address to be the Static IP of 192.168.0.6

 

#3 In the Netgear router, DMZ that address of the Cisco.

 

#4 Please report what happens.

 

#5 Are on Residential OR Business Service?

 

--

 

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps7293/products_user_guide_list.html

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
scottpsu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2010

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

Again, thanks for the help.  Unfortunately, nothing has changed.  I disabled SIP ALG on the Netgear, DMZ'ed the Cisco (192.168.0.6), setup a static route to the Cisco and changed the DHCP starting address to 192.168.0.100 (end of range still 192.168.0.254).

 

I talked to DSL tech support last night, which was about as productive as talking to my dog to solve this issue.  They told me they can't help me and that they don't block any ports.  I know that they do, as I work with a University that has to listen for email authentications on a separate port because Verzion blocks the standard port.

 

The tech support folks told me to call their Expert Care hotline, which is a fee-based service. 

 

Anyway, I am on residential DSL service (3 updown/ 768k ).

 

Scott

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

For inbound calls ... what happens when someone tries to call exactly?   Are you certain the inbound call is being seen by Viatalk and attempting to be routed down to your device?   I know you said Viatalk said that was the case,  but do you get some kind of voie mail or other indication that the inbound call did indeed get routed to Viatalk's head end in the first place?

 

With a DMZ setup, even if you were experiencing an unbalanced or non-stateful call initiation, the router would pass your traffic thru to the device. 

 

You can go into Firewall settings on the ActionTec and turn on logging for ALL traffic (successfull and blocked).   Do that and try to place an incoiming call.   You should see some traffic hitting the external interface of your router.  If not, the traffic is not coming toward you.   If so, then we know the traffic is initiating from Viatalk and we have an issue with the router to look at closer.

 

Post the log file when you have it.

 

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

[ Edited ]

Oh and another thing we can try ...

 

Turn everything off for a few hours, connect the WAN interface of the phone to the ONT.  That's it ... nothing else.   Wait for the phone to get an IP from Verizon (this will be the public IP and of course you won't have internet connectivity for your PC right now).  Also, what is this IP?   Is it a Verizon public IP that was assigned?

 

Now ... try an incoming call.   Does it work?   If so, then it's definitely router related and we can look further.   If not, you need to get that working first and I would make another call to Viatalk because I know their service works on FiOS.

 

 

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,411
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

[ Edited ]

#1

 

 


lasagna wrote:

 

Turn everything off for a few hours, connect the WAN interface of the phone to the ONT.


 

Wrong advise.
http://www.netgear.com/products/home/wirelessrouters/high-performance/DGND3300.aspx
It is a DSL modem.
--
#2 To OP, Besides their advise in their previous post (NOT talking about the ONT / FIOS)..
Since we know that you setup a Static IP, what DNS Server(s) did you enter on this Cisco Small Business unified communication device?
#3 If the DNS Server that you added was 192.168.0.1, then what are the DNS Servers in the router at Router Status?
b) Also, the DNS Server Address(e) might be at Diagnostics under Maintenance.

#4 

lasagna wrote:

 

You can go into Firewall settings on the ActionTec and turn on logging for ALL traffic (successfull and blocked).   Do that and try to place an incoiming call.   You should see some traffic hitting the external interface of your router.  If not, the traffic is not coming toward you.   If so, then we know the traffic is initiating from Viatalk and we have an issue with the router to look at closer.

 

Post the log file when you have it.

 



Since the OP is using the modem that they are using...

 

In the modem combo go to Logs, under Security.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

Thanks for the catch dslr ... I spend so much time over in the FiOS section, I totally missed this was in the DSL section.

 

So, with that said, has the OP had any luck getting the log files for us to look at?   We should be seeing traffic coming from ViaTalk when incoming calls come in and that's what we need to see.

 

Also, not clear if you have the Verizon gear still in the loop here or are justing usng the Netgear.  If the Verizon modem is in the picture, is it operating in bridge mode (not router mode)?

 

 

 

 

Admin Emeritus
Jaime_Lee
Posts: 885
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
0 Kudos

Re: HELP! Can make outgoing VoIP calls but no incoming

Thank you all for working through this!  I did check...this type of scenario is out of the normal tech support area.  Premium Tech Support is available at (866)812-0210. 

 

I just confirmed with our tech support team.  The only ports that are blocked are:

 

ports 80 + 25 for residential (web server + email server default ports).

 

scottpsu...if you get this issue resolved can you please come back and post an answer here?  It might help someone else!

 

 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411