Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
padres
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
0 Kudos

Is it ok to use Westell 6100F in non-bridged mode with Linksys router?

I'm a new Verizon DSL customer.

 

After several attempts I was only able to connect my Verizon 6100F modem with my Linksys wired router in non-bridged mode.  I just changed the IP address in my router, and then released and renewed.  I did this just yesterday and the connection is fine...so far.

 

Fyi, I'm using the Linksys for its firewall.  I don't need wireless.

 

Since I didn't bridge the modem, I assume I'm basically using two routers, the 6100F and the Linksys.  Will this cause me issues in the future?

 

I need to decide whether to try again to bridge the modem or just leave it alone.

 

Thanks.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,327
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Is it ok to use Westell 6100F in non-bridged mode with Linksys router?

Yes, it is ok.

Here are things that I have ever heard of what can happen (or happens) with Double NAT:

#1 Might not possible to get online, depending on the LAN IP of both routers. But it sounds like you already solved that issue. :smileyhappy:

#2 NAT and Double NAT cause lag/latency.

I point to two source(s).

a) URL: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/15872

Title/Location: All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs » AT&T Southeast Forum FAQ » Motorola Info » How do I properly set up a Motorola 2210 with a Netgear router.

b) As to why that theory/concept is true, go to http://www.endlagnow.org/ELN/TakeAction_TopTips.aspx

and read tip number one, there.

#3 If you want to allow users from the net to connect to you, I point to..

http://www.portforward.com/ -> Other Guides -> Port Forwarding Behind Two Routers?

#4 http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/992

Where they talk about Double NAT, VPNs, and visiting secure (SSL) sites.

#5 Some routers may or may not show up when doing a trace route to the outside.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
padres
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Is it ok to use Westell 6100F in non-bridged mode with Linksys router?

Thanks for the links.  I think I'm going to go ahead and try to bridge the dsl modem.

Contributor
padres
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Is it ok to use Westell 6100F in non-bridged mode with Linksys router?

Success!  After 3 tries and 2 Verizon tech support calls, I was finally able to bridge my modem.

 

I think the issue was an IP conflict with the modem and router.  The one step that Verizon did not tell me to do was change the IP address of my router.  Instead they transferred my call to Linksys support and I didn't want to pay for their support...my router is 2 years old.

 

I'll post a new topic that may help others.

Contributor
donmontalvo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Device: Linksys WRT54G2v1
Plan: 3G DSL
Location: Texas
0 Kudos

Re: Is it ok to use Westell 6100F in non-bridged mode with Linksys router?

[ Edited ]

dslr595148 wrote:
Yes, it is ok.

Here are things that I have ever heard of what can happen (or happens) with Double NAT:

#1 Might not possible to get online, depending on the LAN IP of both routers. But it sounds like you already solved that issue. :smileyhappy:

#2 NAT and Double NAT cause lag/latency.

I point to two source(s).

a) URL: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/15872

Title/Location: All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs » AT&T Southeast Forum FAQ » Motorola Info » How do I properly set up a Motorola 2210 with a Netgear router.

b) As to why that theory/concept is true, go to http://www.endlagnow.org/ELN/TakeAction_TopTips.aspx

and read tip number one, there.

#3 If you want to allow users from the net to connect to you, I point to..

http://www.portforward.com/ -> Other Guides -> Port Forwarding Behind Two Routers?

#4 http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/992

Where they talk about Double NAT, VPNs, and visiting secure (SSL) sites.

#5 Some routers may or may not show up when doing a trace route to the outside.
Another problem with double-NAT is some screen sharing methods may not work. Such as Apple "Back To My Mac".
 Using and troubleshooting Back to My Mac in Mac OS X 10.5
 I just logged on to this forum to see if I can find the necessary steps to turn my Westel 6100F up to "bridge" so I can use my Linksys WRT54G2v1 as the only router on my home network.
 PS, I'm subscribing to this thread in case anyone has a link to step by step for setting this up on the Westel 6100F (I can handle the Linksys end of things). 
{edited for privacy} 
Message Edited by ElizabethS on 07-11-2009 01:30 PM
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools