Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
Judson
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
0 Kudos

Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Before I spend any money, can anyone advise if Verizon DSL is supported with the Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem?

Contributor
Judson
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-29-2010

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Well, answered my own question. Went ahead and got one. Only had to clone the MAC address from the Westell due to the screwed up DHCP scope that is used. Works like a champ.

Gold Contributor I
lasagna
Posts: 1,788
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Plan: Prime HD 50/25
Location: South Central, PA

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Actually, I think you'll find that if you turn off the modem for a period of a few hours (long enough for the DHCP lease to expire), then you won't need to clone the MAC address either.   However, there is nothing wrong with using the cloned address approach.

 

 

 

Contributor
brwncntycoyote
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

How do I find the Westell information...tried hooking up netgear modem/router and spent forever on tech support they could never get an isp from verizon.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

 


brwncntycoyote wrote:

How do I find the Westell information...tried hooking up netgear modem/router and spent forever on tech support they could never get an isp from verizon.


 

This FAQ will help you

 

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/13600

 

If you have any questions about that, please post ( When you post, please tell post if you are using the White and Blue OR the Red and Black Westell Firmware ).

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
mrzmarx
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Can you tell me how you got this to work for you? I tried and couldn't get internet access. I get to like IPoA connection detected and then get lost. If you have any help I would be grateful. Thanks!

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

 


mrzmarx wrote:

Can you tell me how you got this to work for you? I tried and couldn't get internet access. I get to like IPoA connection detected and then get lost. If you have any help I would be grateful. Thanks!


 

 

#1 You want to use your Netgear Wireless-N 300 with your existing modem?

 

#2 If you modem is one these: Westell 2200, 6100, 6100F, 327W, and 7500 models.

 

a) Did you see that FAQ that I pointed you to?

 

b) If so, please tell post if you are using the White and Blue OR the Red and Black Westell Firmware.

 

#3 If your modem is not one of those, what is the brand and model of your modem?

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
mrzmarx
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Hey thanks for responding. i looked at the faq but I thought the n300 would replace the modem all together? I have a 7500 with the red and black firmware.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Ok.

 

Do the following.

 

#1 Connect a computer directly to your modem.

 

#2 Make sure that you can access the net

 

#3 With a web browser try go to 192.168.1.1 and go to System Monitoring -> Gateway Status.

 

If you are prompted for a Username and Password, try one of the following:

admin/password
admin/password1
admin/admin
admin/admin1
Your Verizon username/password

 

#4 The screen of your router will look something like the screen that you see at

 

http://screenshots.portforward.com/Westell/A90-750015-07/Gateway_Status.htm

 

#5 Look for Broadband Connection Type is, in your modem combo.

 

#7 What is it ( PPPoE, DHCP )?

 

--

 

http://kb.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/12150

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
mrzmarx
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router w/ DSL Modem on Verizon

Hi sorry for the delay, I've been tryig to mess with it and it worked for a little bit but cut out again. It says PPPoE under gateway.

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411