Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
FlyingCatYay
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
0 Kudos

Turning on UPnP

I'm trying to turn my UPnP on because my Xbox 360 says that the connection is moderate but whenever I enable it and test my connection again it doesnt work.I've tried resetting the 360 and the modem but it doesnt do anything.The model of the modem is a Westell 6100 (I think?).I'm pretty annoyed about how it wont work and so I'm looking for help.

MVP
dslr595148
Posts: 5,377
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Turning on UPnP

#1 Go to http://ipv4.whatismyv6.com/

 

#2 There you will see what your Public/External IP Address is.

 

#3 Record what it is.

 

#4 In the router go to System Monitoring -> Gateway Status 



#5 In the router at that screen, you should see the same IP Address.

 

#6 If you do not, without reporting what the Public/External IP Address is/was, please report back that fact.

 

#7 In the router go to Advanced -> IP Address Distribution OR to Advanced -> Private LAN (which ever exist in your router)

 

#8 What is the Starting and Ending IP Address of the router?

 

#9 If you do not have at least two special computers that support UPnP where you can not define the ports that they use, you do not need to use Universal Plug and Play (UPnP).

 

So if you don't have at least two special computers that support UPnP where you can not define the ports that they use, I would recommend that UPnP in the router is off.

 

A perfect example of what I mean by at least two special computers that support UPnP where you can not define the ports that they use:. At least two game consoles. Any two (Two Xboxes, two Playstations, One Xbox and one Playstation).

 

#10 For example of my network I have..

 

a) Telephone and power line(s)/wire(s) connected to my Westell 6100F.

 

b) I have a wire from it my Westell 6100F to my Linksys WRT54G.

 

c) Then I have wires from my Linksys WRT54G to my computer(s).

 

#11 What do you have, for your network?

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
YayFlyingCat
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Turning on UPnP

The starting address is 192.168.1.15 and the ending address is 192.168.1.47. My network is that the phone line/wire connects to the modem which connects  to an ethernet switch which connect to my pc and 360. This setup used to work fine with my old 6100F model but wont seem to work with the 6100G one. =c

MVP
dslr595148
Posts: 5,377
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Turning on UPnP

Ok.

 

#1 Setup the Xbox to use a Static IP.

 

http://portforward.com/networking/staticip-xbox360.htm

 

#2 The Static IP of the Xbox can either be:

 

a) Above 192.168.1.2 but below 192.168.1.14

 

b) OR above 192.168.1.48 but below 192.168.1.254

 

#3 In the router forward the ports to the Xbox.

 

#4 As need be, please see the guide at http://portforward.com/ which is the best match for the screens of your router.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
seventylxlseven
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Turning on UPnP

i'm having the same problem, but my modem is a 7500 and the options are a little different. Any help?

Gold Contributor VII
Smith6612
Posts: 5,886
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Turning on UPnP

[ Edited ]

seventylxlseven wrote:

i'm having the same problem, but my modem is a 7500 and the options are a little different. Any help?



UPnP on the Westell 7500 is found at the following location:

 

http://192.168.1.1/ > Advanced > (Click Yes past prompt) > Universal Plug and Play.

 

You will need to use in using one of the default usernames and passwords of:

 

admin/password

admin/admin

admin/password1

admin/admin1

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools