Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
gilligan5000
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

WRT54G and Westell 6100G

I see lots of issues with the Westell being setup with a router, but all seem to allude to an earlier version of the Westell 6100 that was a router as well.  The Westell 6100G that I have received is JUST A MODEM, not a router as well.  I can connect fine directly to it, but when I try to hook up my WRT54G I can not get to the internet.  I have attempted cloning the MAC, changing from DHCP to PPPoE...resetting everything...so many different combo's of settings.  I'm out of ideas.  Does anyone have a step by step of settings that actually work?

 

 

Not that it really matters, but the WRT is running on Tomato firmware.

 

 

Please help!

Contributor
murmur
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

Gilligan,

 

I am currently working the same issue as of yesterday. I am going to give it some more time this evening and maybe call tech support (last resort). I know this is unhelpful but at least you know there are others with the same issue.

 

-Murmur

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,335
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

I point both of you to

 

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/13600

 

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
gilligan5000
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

 


gilligan5000 wrote:

I see lots of issues with the Westell being setup with a router, but all seem to allude to an earlier version of the Westell 6100 that was a router as well.  The Westell 6100G that I have received is JUST A MODEM, not a router as well.  I can connect fine directly to it, but when I try to hook up my WRT54G I can not get to the internet.  I have attempted cloning the MAC, changing from DHCP to PPPoE...resetting everything...so many different combo's of settings.  I'm out of ideas.  Does anyone have a step by step of settings that actually work?

 

 

Not that it really matters, but the WRT is running on Tomato firmware.

 

 

Please help!


 

 

"The 6100 is a modem/router combination unit,"

 

 

Please read before posting.  To further clarify, I am speaking to the newer 6100G (model G90-610015-20) THAT IS NOT A ROUTER!  The GUI is still a black and red Verizon page, but there are no bridging options....etc, that work with the older model.

 

 

Again, please help.

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,335
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

 


gilligan5000 wrote:

 

 

Please read before posting.  To further clarify, I am speaking to the newer 6100G (model G90-610015-20) THAT IS NOT A ROUTER!  The GUI is still a black and red Verizon page, but there are no bridging options....etc, that work with the older model.

 

 

Again, please help.


 

 

Just an odd question.

 

If that Westell is not a router, how did you get access to it by an IP Address with your web browser - Hmm?

 

Since I also have a red and black Westell firmware, I will show you how my Westell is configured.

 

#1 While your computer is directly connected to the modem and net, in the Westell go to My Network -> Network Connections.

 

http://i46.tinypic.com/332m4vs.jpg

 

#2 Click on the action tab for the Broadband Connection.

 

#3 In there, Click on Edit.

 

http://i50.tinypic.com/swr7zt.jpg

 

#4 Then make sure, it looks like this...

 

http://i47.tinypic.com/2zrhvmg.jpg

 

#5 Press Apply.

 

#6 Disconnect your computer from the modem.

 

#7 Connect your computer behind the router that you want to use, and configure it to use the connection.

 

Just some examples: Static IP (if you have a public Static IP), DHCP (with MAC Address spoofing/cloning as need be), PPPoE....

 

****

 

If you do not want to have the modem in bridge mode, fine. Either:

 

b) Change the LAN IP of the second router to make sure that the third octet is different from the modem's.

 

For example: Modem IP: 192.168.1.1

 

Router IP: 192.168.2.1

 

c) OR follow:

 

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/lanwan-basics/30740-how-to-use-a-router-to-add-network-ports

 

http://forum.portforward.com/YaBB.cgi?num=1133918703

 

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
gilligan5000
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

Sorry for the short fuse...A little agrivated from talking to India for the last couple of days.  Thanks for all your help.  I ended up resetting the modem, and then the GUI looked familiar.  Followed your steps and they worked!  This is by far the most rediculous home network hassle EVER...does verizon really think that you are going to only connect one WIRED device?  They really should default to this setup.  Oh well, thanks again.

Contributor
badservice123
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

How would a simpleton at computers/networking know how to "bridge" or change an IP address to get their router to work?  Verizon sure as heck doesn't help you with that.  I just went through this issue....atrocious customer service!  Hey, Verizon...can you hear me now?

 

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,335
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: WRT54G and Westell 6100G

 


badservice123 wrote:

How would a simpleton at computers/networking know how to "bridge" or change an IP address to get their router to work?  Verizon sure as heck doesn't help you with that.  I just went through this issue....atrocious customer service!  Hey, Verizon...can you hear me now?

 


 

 

Besides that DSLR FAQ that I pointed to, the directions for that are located by following this path...

 

a) http://start.verizon.net/

 

b) Support

 

c) Internet

 

d) Home Networking

 

e) Connecting a third party router.

 

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools