Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Contributor
afilipo21
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
0 Kudos

changing wireless router default name and password

ive been trying to change the default name and password on my verizon wireless router, but i just cant figure it out, help anybody?

 

thanks!!

Gold Contributor V
somegirl
Posts: 2,888
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Location: Texas
0 Kudos

Re: changing wireless router default name and password

1. What brand/model is your router?

2. Are you trying to change the username and password to log into the router itself, or the network name and password used to access your wifi network?

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Bronze Contributor I
RetiredDBA
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎08-01-2010
Device: PC
Plan: Phone/DSL
Location: Home

Re: changing wireless router default name and password

This works for me:

 

Send your browser to "http://dslrouter".

 

In the main menu that you now see, click on "Change Login User Name & Password".

 

When prompted, supply the old username and password to confirm your identity.

 

Enter the new username and password.  Confirm by clicking "Apply" and "OK".

 

 

Disconnect to the DSL router and reconnect,  then try and enter the new user id and password, to be sure it took effect.

 

What you see could be different from what I see, if you have a different model DSL router, or if your DSL router's firmware is different.

 

 

 

lhh
Contributor
lhh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
0 Kudos

Re: changing wireless router default name and password

actiontec GT704wg, router user name and password.  Using 'admin' and 'password' does not work

Gold Contributor VII
Smith6612
Posts: 5,770
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: changing wireless router default name and password

There are a few default passwords it could be set to. Try these other combinations:

 

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

Your Verizon Username and Password

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
Contributor
countryuser
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2012
0 Kudos

Password when Authentication Required

I've access my router, and have tried all of the suggestions for the user id/password.  Mine indicates the following -- "Before configuring the Gateway, a User Name / Password is r...sword please refer to the User Manual for further support"

 

Of course, after years of having this modem, I no longer have the User Manual...and none of the forum suggestions for the user id/password seem to work.  

 

Any ideas for what password Verizon may have used, which starts with an "r"

 

Thanks!

 

Contributor
countryuser
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Password when Authentication Required

P.S. I'm using the Verizon GT704WGB modem/router

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,334
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Password when Authentication Required


countryuser wrote:

P.S. I'm using the Verizon GT704WGB modem/router




I used Google to look up GT704WGB

 

Here is one of the many results back

 

http://www.actiontec.com/support/product_details.php?pid=194

 

At that webpage is the manual / user's guide for it.

 

Download the manual / user's guide and read it.

 

If you have any questions, please ask...

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gold Contributor VII
dslr595148
Posts: 5,334
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: changing wireless router default name and password


Smith6612 wrote:

There are a few default passwords it could be set to. Try these other combinations:

 

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

Your Verizon Username and Password


Also: admin/serial number.

 

By serial number, I do not mean type in the words serial number. I mean find and enter in the serial number found on the bottom on the router..

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools