intermittent DSL connection..... PPP down.... does that mean possible line/hardware issues?
michael126
Enthusiast - Level 2

about a year ago i had an issue with a temp line that was put in. I kept getting a connected for a DSL status but losing connection on my internet status and a message saying PPP down. The experiance with calling was horrible, so bad i don't want to call again for support. After 3 hrs of doing stupid things like resetting up my username and rebooting my modem i knew wasn't going to fix the issue, (also being lied to by saying there was no such thing as tier 2 agents) I am a tier 2 support agent for another industry, i know they have to have a tier 2!!! My issue was finally resolved when my neighbors construction workers broke the phone line and they had to run a new line. the tech i talked to was pretty disapointed i wasn't able to talk to a technician that knew the right thing to do in that instance.

anyway the issue is presenting itself again. PPP down when i lose connection and check the modem config page. I saw some former posts where people were able to get their issue resolved by some techs by just knowing the tria stats. ive noticed my IP changes from a 71.x.x.x to a 96.x.x.x as well (this means nothing to me but figured it may to someone else). issue is resolved briefly by a remote/hard reset. 

Transceiver RevisionA2pB020b3.d20h
Vendor ID Code4D54
Line ModeADSL_G.dmt
Data PathINTERLEAVED

Transceiver InformationDown Stream PathUp Stream Path
DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec)3360736
Margin (dB)8.110.0
Line Attenuation (dB)52.031.0
Transmit Power (dBm)19.311.9

If anyone can help me avoid a call, I would greatly appreciate it. I go through TS flows all day and know how much time they can waste. Sry about the negative attitude, I love my job as a phone jockey but I know how going through the system can be, and know message boards are a great and better alternative. westell model 7500

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers