Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
Apear
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
0 Kudos

Want to add second wireless router to network

I have a Actiontec MI424WR and would like to add a second wireless router, a Linksys Cisco E2000 which has N capabilities. What is the best way to add this second router so that they both work as wireless routers? Thank you for your help.

Copper Contributor
jmcguoirk
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Want to add second wireless router to network

Set-up the Actiontec as the DHCP server. Set-up the Linksys as a wireless access point. NOTE: Each need a unique SSID. Name 1 xxxxxxx1 and the other xxxxxxx2, where xxxxxxx is the variable.

In this configuration, you will have access to whichever is given the strongest signal. The access point will need a wired connection to the Actiontec. Use only LAN ports, not the WAN port.
Platinum Contributor I
Smith6612
Posts: 6,020
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Want to add second wireless router to network

[ Edited ]

If I'm not mistaken, they can leave the SSID on both access points to be the same. You just don't want them to run on the same channel. The devices with either setup see an Access Point by it's MAC Address. It should have no problem roaming onto another Access point if one starts to get too weak for the device's liking. Even with separate SSIDs, that will still happen.

 

What the above poster means by setting up the Linksys as an Access Point is the following:

 

1: Disable DHCP on the Linksys

2: Disable the Firewall, UPnP support in the Linksys

3: Configure BOTH the ActionTec and Linksys to operate on WPA2 Security (The Linksys E2000 is a Wireless N router. Wireless N requires WPA2 to work to it's potential).

4: Set both the ActionTec and Linksys to separate channels, either 1, 6, or 11. It's best to keep them off each other's ranges due to the distance between the two APs. The Linksys should only be set to use 20Mhz wide channels for Wireless N. DO NOT OPERATE IT ON AUTO/40MHZ!

5: Connect the Linksys to the ActionTec by plugging the Linksys into the network using one of the LAN Ports. Do not use the Internet port on the Linksys!

 

Just keep in mind, if you do set up the Linksys to run on the same SSID as the ActionTec, the security settings (Key, Encryption type, MAC filtering) must be identical. If you go down the separate SSID route as mentioned above, you're free to keep the security settings separate. Just keep in mind my pointer with WPA2, though.

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
Contributor
mouazzen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Want to add second wireless router to network

Do you always use a LAN port when you connect from a the main router to an access point?

Platinum Contributor I
Smith6612
Posts: 6,020
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Want to add second wireless router to network


mouazzen wrote:

Do you always use a LAN port when you connect from a the main router to an access point?



It depends on what is being used as an access point as to how it gets connected. Typically, the access point will use one Ethernet port on your router/switch hosting the Internet connection/network. Most access points are set up by simply connecting an Ethernet cable from one LAN port to the port on the Access Point. If you're using a router as an access point, you disable the second router down to nothing more than a Wireless Access Point/Switch (which prevents you from pulling addresses via the second router at first) and then connect both units LAN to LAN.

========
The first to bring me 1Gbps Fiber for $30/m wins!
 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411