Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  
  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
Todd_Terri
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-12-2010
Plan: freedom essentials
Location: Union City, MI
0 Kudos

Home phone not working but internet is..

I just recently upgraded to the Freedom essentials plan, upgraded my existing dsl to a little faster service and added direct tv. Since the switch my home phone no longer works but the I still have internet, both use the same phone jack. Everything was working great until my phone plan was upgraded...I have switched to a new filter, unplugged everything and then plugged it back in, no luck. I tried the box outside of my house and I get a dial tone out there and my phone works perfectly fine but no service inside my house. Im assuming my phone jack is in in working condition otherwise I would not get internet. What is happening? Do I need to run a different line? I bought my house in 97 and have been using the existing jack with no problems, I'm not sure how old this phone jack is.  It's the only one in the house so I'm confused as to what it could be. Please help...I'm getting very frustrated. Also vca is no longer working either, did the first day I installed it then quit...says I am offline.

Contributor
raquel21869
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-31-2010
Device: home phone
Plan: freedom essentials
Location: virginia
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

I just got the same problem please let me know if you got it fixed and how the problem got resolved

Contributor
insoptvos
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

[ Edited ]

My phone just did this today and I have not upgraded or changed the plan.  Line works on outside box but no dial-tone inside, just a fuzzy noise.  I have the Verizon DSL wireless router and the internet works.  The All-in-one-wireless printer/fax says "Phone off hook" but when I unplug the phone from wall jack the wireless fax will dial.

 

Working line outside indicates internal wiring problem; but how can the internet work if my wires are corrupt?

I will try "googling" for an answer as I am not getting much help from the Verizon site.  Lots of people with this problem yet no answers!

Copper Contributor
phinney5350
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Plan: Fios
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

Past experience strong suggests a bad splitter at the jack in the room. Try plugging the phone direct into the jack without the filter & splitter. Dialtone means the splitter is bad. Trail & error works well. If you subscribe to the inside maintenance plan, VZ can do this at no charge. Just ask for a qualified & original VZ tech. (not a contractor). Hope all goes well!

Contributor
SheilaCarpena
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2010
Location: California
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

I'm also having the same problem. Just started today. Please let me know if and how yours was resolved.

Contributor
SheilaCarpena
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2010
Location: California
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

Well, my husband just fixed ours today. He unhooked all the wires on the phone box outside and rehooked them tight. It all works great now  :smileyhappy:

Copper Contributor
phinney5350
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Plan: Fios
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

Sounds like your husband is a practical & smart fellow. Always start with the basics (which he did) & it usually works in resolving most issues. Congrats :smileyhappy:

Copper Contributor
ironman54
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-19-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..

Why would un hooking the wires and re hooking then work ??? I have this same problem - have been working with electronics since early 60's and this 'fix' would never have occured to me ! It sound like what many guys do when their car won't start - open the hood, jiggle the battery cables, stare at the engine and then call for the tow truck ! LOL !! Is there some type of 'reset' function like unplugging a unit from the A/C for 10 seconds to 'reset' or similar ?? Otherwise I don't 'get' why thise would fix anything. Its great that it worked but quite frankly it doesn't make a whol;e lot of sense unless one or more wires had been disconnected to begin with.

You say this was a 'common sense' repair, care to elaborate please 'cause the cold weather is coming and the set up I have now will not be very practicle in the cold weather: I'm runnng an extension wire out through the window to the jack on the service box. All inside wiring appears to be 'dead'. This doesn't make sense to me either considering the house is relatively new construction. Not like the wiring is ancient or anyhting.....ok, please enlighten me !

All Star
viafax999
Posts: 1,729
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Device: Chromecast tv phone
Plan: Digital Voice, 75/35
Location: Westford MA
0 Kudos

Re: Home phone not working but internet is..


ironman54 wrote:

Why would un hooking the wires and re hooking then work ??? I have this same problem - have been working with electronics since early 60's and this 'fix' would never have occured to me ! It sound like what many guys do when their car won't start - open the hood, jiggle the battery cables, stare at the engine and then call for the tow truck ! LOL !! Is there some type of 'reset' function like unplugging a unit from the A/C for 10 seconds to 'reset' or similar ?? Otherwise I don't 'get' why thise would fix anything. Its great that it worked but quite frankly it doesn't make a whol;e lot of sense unless one or more wires had been disconnected to begin with.

You say this was a 'common sense' repair, care to elaborate please 'cause the cold weather is coming and the set up I have now will not be very practicle in the cold weather: I'm runnng an extension wire out through the window to the jack on the service box. All inside wiring appears to be 'dead'. This doesn't make sense to me either considering the house is relatively new construction. Not like the wiring is ancient or anyhting.....ok, please enlighten me !


Probably because somewhere one of the jacks has corrosion in it and is shorting.  When removing the plugs check the connections pins for green copper salts and if you see any clean them up and also the corrosion that is probably on the rj11 jack connectors too.

Contributor
stevemz46
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
0 Kudos

phone cuts off during windy days.

[ Edited ]

phone cuts off during storm or windy days;

this is 4th complaint, you have done nothing, I wasted over 2 hours previously talking to your so caled reps but noting was fixed.

I try to tell your peole if problem onsist during the storm or windy days the problem must be in main line outside.

My last warning,if probem is not resolved,I will go back Time warner,I will gove time till next windy day.

             sincerely yours,  {edited for privacy}

 

 

 

 

 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411