Billing Mess- Three Months and Counting, despite promises to fix it
RPeppe
Enthusiast - Level 2

I am hoping someone here can help with a billing problem that dates back to August and remains unresolved despite almost weekly calls and discussions with customer service.  They are now threatening to refer the matter to collection, even though I do not owe any money.  I would like to get this resolved, but as an attorney I can not figure out how Verizon gets away with this, and now I am hearing from other people with the same problems.  I do not want to take legal action, I just want to resolve the problem.

I cancelled my FIOs triple play service in August, partly because of the customer service issues when they could never find my account if I had a technical issue.  I ported away my phone number, then cancelled the remaining internet and TV service after the port was complete (I received an email from Verizon saying it would all be cancelled automatically ,but I called to make sure). I returned all the equipment as instructed at the UPS store- I was told there was no other option to return it,

The remaining issue is that I am getting bills and threats of collection for "unreturned equipment," even though I took the equipment (2 cable cards) to UPS, and have a receipt showing Verizon received it and signed for it. I have now provided the tracking numbers for the returns 4 times on the phone, and each time have been told it is resolved, but the charges are still there.  How do we fix this?