• RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

Verizon Business Sites

• WIRELESS
vmishra

Channel Lineup in South Asian (Hindi) Package

by vmishra on ‎04-05-2012 09:20 AM

Dear All

This post is regarding the poor quality of channel lineup in the South Asian (Hindi) package. Till date, there are 4 channels in there, namely:

SET Asia

Zee TV

Asia TV

Star India Plus

The monthly charges for this package is 34.99.

I am a resident of PA, a native of India, my native language being Hindi. In order to satisfy my Hindi TV craving, presently I have a FIOS subscription for Extreme HD to view the American channels and on top of it I have subscribed to Dish Network for their Hindi Pack, which comes to another $65 (44.99 for the package and then rest of the **bleep** charges being put in on top of it). This package has the following popular hindi channels in its lineup:

>AAJ TAK (AAJTK)
>AAPKA COLORS (APCLR)
>LIFE OK (LIFOK)
>MTV HINDI (MTVH)
>RADIO CITY (RADIO)
>SAB (SAB)
>SAHARA SAMAY (SAMAY)
>SET MAX (SETMX)
>SONY ENTERTAINMENT TELEVISION ASIA (SET)
>STAR INDIA PLUS (STAR+)
>TIMES NOW (TIMES)
>TV ASIA (TVASA)
>ZEE BUSINESS (ZEEBU)
>ZEE CINEMA (ZCINE)
>ZEE SMILE (ZEESM)
>ZEE TV (ZEETV)
>ZING (ZING)

You can see the content which is being offered here is more than enough for an average Hindi expatriate TV watcher. Even if some of the less popular ones in the above line up (e.g. RADIO CITY, SAB, TV ASIA, ZEEBU, ZEESM and ZING) are not offered, we would be probably content with the lineup.

Fios management should look into this - this will be a very nice marketing move towards South Asian community.

What is even more preplexing is that Verizon and Star India TV seems to already have a deal between them (see below news release on Verizon New Center):

http://newscenter.verizon.com/press-releases/verizon/2010/verizon-fios-tv-launches-news.html