(from the Verizon web page on emails retention) Email RetentionAll read Verizon Online email messages remain on the Verizon server until you decide to delete them. All unread Verizon Online email messages are deleted from the Verizon server after 90 days.
This is the way Verizon deals with email that has not been read. Why would you delete something that has not been read and in fact retain something that has been read??? Nothing should be deleted unless I delete it, certainly not something that has not even been read. What if I have to go into an extended stay at the hospital or overseas without access to my computer?