Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Alexa setup does not work

Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-18-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 31 of 59
(3,545 Views)

Same here ... Alexa verbally confirmed channel change but nothing happens ... no issues pausing 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 32 of 59
(3,540 Views)

Having the same issues. Alexa app recognizes my STBs, I can pair with the Echo Dot in the same room. Alexa responds to voice cues as if channel changing commands are successful, but nothing actually happens.

 

My setup: Verizon Quantum Router acts as DHCP server and Default Gateway for my home subnet. I have a TP-LINK wireless router that is broadcasting my SSID, on which the Echo Dot resides. 

 

Is it possible that the network traffic required to get from the Echo Dot (on WiFi) is not getting from the TP-LINK router to the Set Top Box (which is connected directly from the FiOS Quantum Router via coax)?

 

I will try getting a Verizon tech to hard reset my STBs when I get home tonight.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 33 of 59
(3,501 Views)

I highly doubt your TP-Link is an issue. I, like others, am using the Verizon router (although I also have the Verizon extender) and it's not functioning 100%.. I agree with a previous poster that it's probably on the Verizon end as a portion of the skill works (search, fast forward, etc.). I show 100% green in the Voice Control troubleshooter so I know it's not on my end.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 34 of 59
(3,429 Views)

Same issue as others, Alexa responds as if she is fetching, but nothing happens, can't change channel, pause/rewind, search, etc...nothing happens...

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2017

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 35 of 59
(3,414 Views)

Same here. Worked yesterday but will not change channels today, though acts like it did. No news from Amazon or Verizon?

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 36 of 59
(3,382 Views)

Same issue as everyone else.  I have an echo dot (2nd gen), I purchased it for this purpose.  Alexa confirms the channel change but the channel never changes.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 37 of 59
(3,368 Views)

Tech resetting the STB fixed it.  

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 38 of 59
(3,352 Views)

I'm on hold to get a tech to reset to see if that works for me.

 

I did tweet to Verizon. First response was to "delete the skill, wait 15 minutes, then try again". That did nothing. I was able to search, ff, but no actual channel change.

 

I tweeted that info to Verizon. They responded "There is a known issue we are investigating. Issue should be resolved tomorrow morning. ^CAR"

 

So we'll see.

 

 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2017

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 39 of 59
(3,343 Views)

It worked 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

Re: Alexa setup does not work

Message 40 of 59
(3,337 Views)

Eikookie - what worked?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.