quick menu

Alexa setup does not work

Alexa setup does not work

Reply
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 11 of 59
(2,988 Views)

If you have a device on the same WiFi as echo with FiOS mobile app, does the remote feature work?

Could be a network issue.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 12 of 59
(2,984 Views)

How do you know it’s a Fios issue? Maybe it is an Alexa issue.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=hp_gt_echo?nodeId=201399130

 

 

Contributor larrygm
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2014
Message 13 of 59
(2,979 Views)

Yes . The Verizon Mobile App remote works fine

Contributor NJGamer
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-06-2011
Message 14 of 59
(2,941 Views)

I had the same problem - followed the instructions for setup in the Alexa app and connected the FIOS box to the Echo.  When I gave commands to Alexa, there was a response like it was going to happen, and never did.  I called support and went through a bunch of restarting and reconnecting, tried a different Echo, connected to a different VMS, and nothing worked.  Finally, the tech sent a reset signal to my FIOS box and everything started to work!  Call in for the reset and you should be up and running.  

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 15 of 59
(2,929 Views)

Can also try rebooting VMS or IPC as well.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor Menumaster
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-17-2018
Message 16 of 59
(2,857 Views)

HI everyone.  I’ve enabled the Alexa skill, paired to the correct stb but even though Alexa responds to proper voice commands, the channels do not changed.  Spoken to customer services and they sent a reset signal to the stb, still not working.  Spoke to Amazon customer services, clueless too.  Found the voice troubleshooter on settings page of fios, ran it and came up with errors....any clue how to fix these, customer service hasn’t!B6A87538-BF9E-4E17-965A-D26A5658AB2B.jpeg

 

Contributor wt219200
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2018
Message 17 of 59
(2,842 Views)

Same problem here. Setup worked fine. It discovered the device and its proper name. Ask Alexa to turn to a channel and she says she does and says what is airing on that channel accurately but the channel does not change on the TV. 

Contributor InnovativeBoost
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2018
Message 18 of 59
(2,827 Views)

Same exact thing happening here...Any fixes anyone?

 

Verizon, care to tune in with a resolution?

Contributor Cb5757
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2018
Message 19 of 59
(2,752 Views)

I am having the same problem with Alexa voice command stating she is changing the channel, but the channel doesn’t change.  Does anyone have any suggestions to correct this.  I have reset my box, but it doesn’t correct the problem

Contributor _gmoney_
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2018
Message 20 of 59
(2,679 Views)

Same problem here. Was working yesterday and now I’m having the same issues as reported by several of you (Echo responds but FiOS PVR does not respond to commands).  

 

Disabled/Renabeled Amazon Skill. 

Reset PVR. 

Reset Router. 

Reset Echo. 

Voice Control Troubleshooting shows no issues. 

 

Seeing how I'm not the only one to be having this issue in the last 24 hours could it be network related and out of our control?

 

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios