quick menu

Alexa setup does not work

Alexa setup does not work

Reply
Contributor Eikookie
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2017
Message 41 of 59
(2,039 Views)

Resetting my fios box, unplugged it for 1 min.

Contributor Jwony89
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-18-2018
Message 42 of 59
(1,989 Views)

Verizon fixed it! 😀

Contributor BehindTheWall
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-20-2018
Message 43 of 59
(1,929 Views)

Connected, but does not work.  Equipment is VMS1100 and Echo.  Alexa announces the channel change and new program showing, but the TV stays right where it was.

i have enabled, disabled, deleted apps, reinstalled apps, took Alexa Echo off the 2g WiFi and put it on the 5g with the TV and FIOS box, all to no avail.

At one point, I told Alexa to change to CBS and she changed the input from FIOS to HDMI4 where our FireStick is. 

????

 

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 44 of 59
(1,886 Views)

Alexa can't control your TV inputs.

It may have connected to FireStick vs Fios.

Some commands may overlap between the two devices.

May want to make sure you are more specific to say something like

Alexa change to CBS on FIOS.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor Bigditka
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2018
Message 45 of 59
(1,816 Views)

Looks like it's working now after not working for a few days.  To get it to work again I had to unplug the set top box and then re-link the Alexa device to the box. It's all good now. Great for searching but still faster to use the remote to change channels

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 46 of 59
(1,802 Views)

I agree with remote vs Alexa.

I have heard that issue with not changing channels or even being to connect have been fixed.
Anyone still having issues with either?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor Rock79
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2017
Message 47 of 59
(1,758 Views)

Its working now for me now, last week it wasnt. I did nothing, no resets, nothing. I'm going to assume Verizon had to fix something on their end.

Gen 1 echo. 

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 48 of 59
(1,748 Views)

Connection issue was Verizon., not responding to channel changes was amazon.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor noscda
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2018
Message 49 of 59
(1,644 Views)

i am having the same issue. alexa will find the devices, but the tv does not change the channel. fios is not overly helpful and maintains the router reset is the only way they know how to fix it. they want to send a tech out and i have been on the phone for over an hour. is this a solveable problem? i do not want to give up another few hours of my life if a tech is going to come out with no success. 

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,403
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 50 of 59
(1,637 Views)

Try contacting amazon for assistance


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios