×

Switch Account

Fios skill on Alexa can't be enabled

Fios skill on Alexa can't be enabled

Reply
Contributor noisypilot
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 1 of 9
(2,927 Views)

Can't link my Echo Dot to my Alexa account using the Fios skill.  Every time I try, it successfully logs in to the ssoauth.verizon.com domain, but then hits me with my challenge question saying it is an "unknown device."  That would be all well and good, except for the fact that when I correctly answer the challenge question, it comes back with "The information you provided doesn't match what we have on file."  I changed my challenge question and answer, tried again, and while the challenge question changed, it still wouldn't accept my answer.  

 

Spent over four hours over two days with both Verizon folks and Alexa folks and they couldn't figure it out.  Even more frustrating, Verizon doesn't seem to have a tech support team that is dedicated to, or even aware of Alexa, or someone who could see the SSO logs in realtime to see what was really going on.  Net result was I kept getting bounced back and forth between Verizon and Alexa support, and got nowhere.  I now have a ticket with "Enhanced Video Support" at Verizon, but I'm not hopeful.......

 

I'm not alone: based upon the reviews of the Fios Alexa Skill on the Alexa website, 6 out of 9 reviews posted in the last 4 days have the same problem.  What gives? 

8 REPLIES 8
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎01-01-2018
Message 2 of 9
(2,887 Views)

Have you already gone though clearing your cache on you computer and trying to do the setup there?

Contributor noisypilot
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 3 of 9
(2,847 Views)

Troubleshooting steps performed:

 

1) Multiple clients (iphone, iPad, iMac), reinstallation of apps on iOS devices.

2) Multiple browsers

3) Clearing caches on browsers (full developer cache clear, not just history)

4) Ensuring all devices, including Echo and client, are attached directly to Fios router WiFi.

5) Reset both router and Echo to factory settings

6) Verizon reset "Enhanced Video Privileges", whatever that means.

7) Reset ONT, Reset Router including removing coax

8 )Reset STB.

9) Changed Challenge question and answer (multiple times)

 

Two things that are odd during the SSO/Challenge Question session:

1) During the Challenge Question, I note that it asks me to confirm either my "Account Name or Mobile Number" which is shown.  I would expect to see that question if I was on Verizon Wireless, but not Verizon Fios Residential, as they often use home phone number as an alternative, which may or may not be Mobile.  But that may just be a template mistake.

2) Also noted that the long session url had a bunch of %25 in it as substitute for %, which in turn was used in further encoding.  Not unusual to see a lot of %2F%3A%3A as encoding for "://" in a URL, but I have never seen the same things represented %252F%253A%253A in an encoded URL.  Occurs to me that won't decode property, but I'm not a web expert.........I'm probably wrong on that point.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,654
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 4 of 9
(2,832 Views)

Can you use FIOS mobile app to connect to STB?

Does remote control function work?

And just to confirm (because I didn't see it explicitly) you do have VMS/IPC stbs?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor noisypilot
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 5 of 9
(2,805 Views)

Yep. 

  • Fios mobile app works fine. 
  • As do other SSO apps such as HBO Go, CNN, etc (although they don't ask Challenge question).   
  • Remote control function on Fios mobile app works fine. 
  • Yes, have VMS 1100 STBs

I have posted a ticket with the Alexa folks as well.    My Verizon ticket of {edited for privacy} is supposed to be resolved by 5:00 pm today, but I am not hopeful.  

Contributor noisypilot
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 6 of 9
(2,778 Views)

As predicted, Verizon's promise that "your trouble will be resolved on 3/16 by 5pm" was an empty one.  No resolution, no communication.  Nice.

 

The number of reviewers on the Amazon Alexa site listing the same problem as the reason for their one-star review started to increase today.  This is not an isolated incident.  Sad.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,654
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 7 of 9
(2,765 Views)

Although it should have worked on version 4.8, are your STBs upgraded to 4.9?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor noisypilot
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 8 of 9
(2,760 Views)

STBs are Release APR-4.9, Build 18.08. 

Firmware Version KA23.03.01.03Alder615511

 

Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎01-01-2018
Message 9 of 9
(2,520 Views)

Please try again now, it should work properly. (Just got got a dot just to test out your issue)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.