×

Switch Account

Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Administrator Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1,169
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 1 of 7
(2,865 Views)

Do you have questions about your Fios TV service?

 

Rob.png

 

CRobGauth, one of our Subject Matter Experts on "Fios TV”, will be here to answer your Fios TV service questions.

 

How does this event work?

 

Come to this Ask The Expert Board and post your question by Wednesday, February 19th.

 

CRobGauth will do his best to answer your questions by Wednesday, February 26th.

 

Why should I come to the "Ask The Expert" session?

 

  • Do you need basic info on your Fios TV service?
  • Do you need to learn how to use your Fios TV service?
  • Are you getting the most out of your Fios TV service?
  • Do you have specific issues that you have been trying to troubleshoot?

 

The event will occur on the Ask The Expert section of the Fios Community.

 

We are looking forward to answering your questions by Wednesday, February 26th!

 



Nilsa
Community Manager

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 5 of 7
(2,129 Views)

 

If you are familiar with networking and configuring your router, you can use it.

Here is a thread that tells you how to do that: Ask The Expert: Have a Question about using your own Router with Fios? The Expert is Here! 

As for channels, FiOS (like all other cable providers) are not yet a la carte. Unfortunately, the contracts with cable providers require certain channels to be carried in certain packages.

Verizon does have a number of different channel packages.

Some are the traditional tiered ones.
There are also ones that are grouped by content.

Go into verizon.com to see your options.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 6 of 7
(2,126 Views)

Most cable providers offer the same type of features.

The thing I like the most about FiOS is the fact it is always there.

I have heard from customers of other providers about the number of outages they have.

Hoping I an not jinxing myself, but I can only remember 1-2 outages in the 10+ years I have had the service.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 7 of 7
(2,123 Views)

I believe so (I don't have a Chromecast).

I have a Samsung phone and it allows me to screen mirror anything from my phone to devices like Roku or some newer Samsung TVs.

The app does have more channels when at home than when outside the home.

One other benefit of the app is that if you are a Verizon Wireless customer, the data used by the app while on cell does not count against a data cap if you have one.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,878
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 2 of 7
(2,660 Views)

While I do not have Verizon as my provider, I ask the following questions.

 

#1 If I had FIOS TV and I wanted to use my own router and keep all FIOS services working: What would I need to do / how would I do it - assuming that I had FIOS services?

 

#2 If I had FIOS TV and I wanted to pick the stations that I want to watch and pay for only (not paying for channels that I do not even watch): Can I and so how?

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-04-2019

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 3 of 7
(2,534 Views)

I am interested in your favorite features of the Fios TV service. 

What are some reasons users should switch? 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2018

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 4 of 7
(2,398 Views)

Can I cast from the FiosTV app to my Chrome Cast? 

I know with another cable provider it is not possible to cast from their App to TV. Does Fios offer that feature? 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 5 of 7
(2,130 Views)

 

If you are familiar with networking and configuring your router, you can use it.

Here is a thread that tells you how to do that: Ask The Expert: Have a Question about using your own Router with Fios? The Expert is Here! 

As for channels, FiOS (like all other cable providers) are not yet a la carte. Unfortunately, the contracts with cable providers require certain channels to be carried in certain packages.

Verizon does have a number of different channel packages.

Some are the traditional tiered ones.
There are also ones that are grouped by content.

Go into verizon.com to see your options.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 6 of 7
(2,127 Views)

Most cable providers offer the same type of features.

The thing I like the most about FiOS is the fact it is always there.

I have heard from customers of other providers about the number of outages they have.

Hoping I an not jinxing myself, but I can only remember 1-2 outages in the 10+ years I have had the service.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,826
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ask The Expert: Have questions about your Fios TV service? The Expert is Here!

Message 7 of 7
(2,124 Views)

I believe so (I don't have a Chromecast).

I have a Samsung phone and it allows me to screen mirror anything from my phone to devices like Roku or some newer Samsung TVs.

The app does have more channels when at home than when outside the home.

One other benefit of the app is that if you are a Verizon Wireless customer, the data used by the app while on cell does not count against a data cap if you have one.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post