9100EM vs new G1100 vs 3rd patry ?
ec831

Newbie here :smileyhappy:

I have the old Westell 9100EM gateway.  I have been wanting faster wifi speeds, more range, and security so I have been trying to decide if I want to drop $150 on the new G1100 or spend that $150 on a 3rd party and bridge/connect the 3rd party to my 9100EM.  Heck even the "advanced" MI424WR GigE for $75 would probably be a descent upgrade but then again I could spend that $ on a 3rd party too, even a 300N router would probably be a descent upgrade.

I have 50/50 just Fios TV/DVR and Internet, no phone, MOCA to the coax.  I dont do a lot of gaming or anything requiring a super fast connection but I would like my speed and range to increase so I can use Netflix/youtube/Amazon TV without buffering as much.  I have 3 laptops, 3 cell phones, and 5 tablets that all can be connected to the wifi but not normally all on the internet at the same time. 1 story home about 2500sq ft. currently can get coverage all over the house but not far in the frobt or back yard.

I currently get about 24mbps/20mbps

Basically with the sales coming up this holiday season Im trying to decide if just getting a newer verizon gateway is worth it or if I can get more bang for my $ by going with a 3rd party. 

On a side note I am interested in connecting an external HD via USB2/3 to the router/gateway for a network HD for storage/backup.  Can you do that on the G1100 or MI424WR GigE?

Thanks for the help, advice, ideas!

0 Likes
Re: 9100EM vs new G1100 vs 3rd patry ?
Anti-Phish1
Master - Level 1

@ec83 wrote:

On a side note I am interested in connecting an external HD via USB2/3 to the router/gateway for a network HD for storage/backup.  Can you do that on the G1100 or MI424WR GigE?

No.  Neither the G1100 or the MI424WR rev I (GigE) support the USB port for anything other than a charging connection.