Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsewhere

Reply
Anon1234
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-17-2014

A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsewhere

Message 1 of 6
(686 Views)

This domain - www.hedgelender.com - is viewable by others all over the country, but not by me here in Maryland, using my FIos. Is this domain being blocked by Fios? Why? It is not X rated or anything like that. It's a simple information site on securities finance. 

 

My hosting provider says it is an ISP issue. What could Verizon be doing to this domain that would stop FIos users from seeing it?

5 REPLIES 5
hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsew

Message 2 of 6
(604 Views)

Works for me

somegirl
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsew

Message 3 of 6
(666 Views)

I'm going to post Justin's reply from this thread, as it sounds like this might be a BOGON filter issue.

 

Short answer: Get a new IP address, and the issue will probably clear up.


@Justin wrote:

If you Google "bogon filter" you will find a Wikipedia article that talks about this problem, plus of course plenty of other links to articles, etc. Basically what has happened is that many "bad guys" have used IP addresses in the past for nefarious uses, so to protect themselves many websites use a "bogon filter" to block those addresses. But IP addresses that were once used for bad things in the past can be used for good ones now; as ISPs expand their networks they acquire blocks of IP addresses and start using them for legitimate purposes. But it is up to each website to manage their own bogon filters, and many don't keep them up to date very well.

 

For you, probably you recently got a new IP address (this happens regularly for people who do not pay for and have static IP addresses) and the new address was on a bogon filter list for those sites, and still is. The only way to get your current IP address removed from the list is to contact the websites, or just wait, eventually they will probably update their filter and then you will be able to access the sites.

 

Another option for you is to record your IP address right now, then turn off your router overnight, turn it on tomorrow and see what IP address you get. If it is on another block of IP addresses the odds are good that you will then be able to reach the sites just fine.

 

Oh, and I too can get to those websites just fine, I am also a FiOS user.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9
Keller, TX 76248


--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsew

Message 4 of 6
(648 Views)

Thanks to Somegirl for dredging up that old post of mine. Smiley Very Happy And yes, IMO that is the most common cause for people to not be able to get to certain sites while others can. 

 

I just checked and I can get to that site on FiOS, no problem.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV: Extreme HD, Internet: 50/25, Digital Voice
VMS Enhanced Service: 1 server, 2 clients
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

 

 

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsew

Message 5 of 6
(644 Views)

In California, and I can get to the site as well on fios

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: A domain is blocked from and not propagating to me here using Fios, but viewable by others elsew

Message 6 of 6
(631 Views)

 Log into your Verizon Actiontec Router.
Click on MY NETWORK icon at the top.
Select NETWORK CONNECTIONS from the menu on the left.
Select BROADBAND CONNECTION (coax or ethernet) depending on your connection to the ONT.
Click SETTINGS Log into your Verizon Actiontec Router.
Click on MY NETWORK icon at the top.
Select NETWORK CONNECTIONS from the menu on the left.
Select BROADBAND CONNECTION (coax or ethernet) depending on your connection to the ONT.
Click SETTINGS
Click RELEASE
Click APPLY
Disconnect the router immediately to prevent it from re-requesting a DHCP lease. and most importantly leave it off for AT LEAST 5 minutes, preferably ten or more. that way you get a new IP. If you get the same IP then you'll be in the same boat.

 

you can see what your current IP is and compare it afterwards by going to www.whatismyip.com


Click RELEASE
Click APPLY
Disconnect the router immediately to prevent it from re-requesting a DHCP lease. and most importantly leave it off for AT LEAST 5 minutes, preferably ten or more. that way you get a new IP. If you get the same IP then you'll be in the same boat.

 

you can see what your current IP is and compare it afterwards by going to www.whatismyip.com

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.